Sheet music

Content and general development discussion, including quest scripts and server code. TMW Classic is a project comprising the Legacy tmwAthena server & the designated improved engine server based on evolHercules.

Forum rules

This forum houses many years of development, tracing back to some of the earliest posts that exist on the board.

Its current use is for the continued development of the server and game it has always served: TMW Classic.

noelleionscowl
Novice
Novice

Sheet music

Post by noelleionscowl »

I'm an artist... Can anybody give me the orchestral sheet music of the songs in-game?
</noelleis>
Noelle IonScowl
"Aah! Stop hurting me! It hurts!"
Merlin
Developer
Developer

Re: Sheet music

Post by Merlin »

?
AFAIK There's no Sheet Music. Why would there be?
MerlinX420
Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music. Has anybody seen this princess I'm looking for?
Kage
Manasource
Manasource

Post by Kage »

Well all music in game is suppose to be GPL. The GPL defines the source as the human readable information used to create the product.

Sheet music would, by definition, be source code to the GPL. And since all music in the game is suppose to be GPL the sheet music should be available.

However, I think it is likely with many other art in the game, artists have done a poor job of following the terms in the GPL.
<Kage_Jittai> ... are you saying I am elite :D
<thorbjorn> Yes. :P
Merlin
Developer
Developer

Post by Merlin »

Except most modern music programs don't output sheet music. IDK any format besides standard Midi that would even allow for such a thing. I suppose I could print out sequencer and playlists, that's about the closest you'd get to sheet music from modern music creation software. (Unless you use a program that output is sheet music.)

I guess this would explain why there's like NO gpl music.