Tips, Ideas, Guides...

Content and general development discussion, including quest scripts and server code. TMW Classic is a project comprising the Legacy tmwAthena server & the designated improved engine server based on evolHercules.

Forum rules

This forum houses many years of development, tracing back to some of the earliest posts that exist on the board.

Its current use is for the continued development of the server and game it has always served: TMW Classic.

Nami
Novice
Novice

Tips, Ideas, Guides...

Post by Nami »

Hi,

I want to start helping and contributing to The Mana World through pixelling, I am new to all this so I guess I would need some help.

I currently use GIMP so maybe if you guys can post any tips, pointers and things useful for me to know etc etc.

Many thanks,
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser

Re: Tips, Ideas, Guides...

Post by Crush »

Hello Nami.

When I understood you correctly, you want to be a pixel artist, but you don't know how to do pixel art yet.

The best starting point is our graphical guidelines page on the wiki. You will find a list of tutorials at the end. The tutorial by Tsugumo is especially interesting. After you followed that tutorial you should know the basics you need to contribute.
http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/Guidelines
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.

You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Alige
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser

Post by Alige »

Greetings Nami.

Pixel art is fairly simple but goes through a lot of rules before it gets in game. I first suggest you to start with icons since it is not a big work like an entire spritesheet. Feel free to start making some personal ideas first then when you'll feel confident enough, you can start by asking what developers need.