Error Couldn't connect to remote host. [SOLVED]

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Error Couldn't connect to remote host. [SOLVED]

Post by ravenshade »

eAthena server on Ubuntu 12.04
Client downloaded from repository (sudo yum install mana) on Fedora 18.
LAN connection.


Okay...

Kind of related to my other thread, but...since this is the eathena install instead, I guess it grants a whole new topic.

I've got alsmost all the way through. Except, I'm hosting my server on an old rust bucket rather than my shiny desktop. Meaning I may be having problems accessing, but I'm not certain. Anywaaaaay.

man --server ServerName --port 6901 -u -d ~/navigate to server

FError: ItemDB: Error while loading items.xml!
sh: xmessage: command not found

Now...why could that be? O.o
Last edited by ravenshade on 11 Jun 2013, 16:57, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by Jaxad0127 »

What did you pass after -d? That is how you tell it where the client-side data is.
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by ravenshade »

Code: Select all

mana --server Niflheim --port 6901 -u -d ~/Servers/ManaWorld2/server-data/client-data/
/
In the tree directory this should (in theory) be (according to root)...

~/home/user/Servers/ManaWorld2/server-data/client-data

I had thought that my iptables might be blocking it, so I reset that... (It's not important). I have a feeling I'm supposed to set something somewhere... I'll go check the config. --checked, the ports seem to fine (I only checked two).

I should point out that when I connect to my server to upload stuff I use

ssh Niflheim

So I know that bit 'should' work.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by Jaxad0127 »

Is there stuff in the folder you passed to -d?
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by ravenshade »

Yep that's where all the client-data is installed. But... I think I know what my problem is... badly configured nginx -_-; Which means I'm not actually getting through to it.

After twiddling around with a server block...

I now get...

Code: Select all

[quellu@localhost manasource]$ mana --server Niflheim --port 6901 -u -d ~/Servers/ManaWorld2/server-data/client-data/
Error: Zero length packet received. Exiting.


Scratch that, that was just me being stupid. (It also took an hour or two to solve -_-) Back to...

Error: ItemDB: Error while loading items.xml!
sh: xmessage: command not found

Now...how do I go about debugging this?
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by ravenshade »

Jaxad0127 wrote:Is there stuff in the folder you passed to -d?
... are we talking client-side or host-side?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by Jaxad0127 »

Client side. The server doesn't care about any of those files. The client needs to be told where they are, which means run an update server or use -u -d path/to/files . Usind -d means the files should not be placed in zips or any of that stuff you would find with an update server.
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by ravenshade »

Ahah... so we've found my problem.

Where does Manaworld default install its stuff? O.o; Usually programs install themselves in my home directory...or at least I have that kind of access there. I can't seem to find where it's been installed at all o.o
Better question. I've obviously got to grab the stuff from the server. What stuff do I need? Or it might actually be easier to tell me what I don't need. Everything in the client-data folder. Gotcha.


Right. Now

Error Couldn't connect to remote host. Likely culprits?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by Jaxad0127 »

Actually, this is just in game data. It's normally downloaded (if there's anything new) after you log in and before you select a character. The other stuff (like files for the various Mana+ themes) are installed with the binary.

Did you open the ports on Niflheim? Where in the process are you getting that error?
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by ravenshade »

Running the client. (Now that it looks all sparkly new *smile smile*)

Anyway... according to my server....

Code: Select all

tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:6901            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      11625/login-server
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:6901          127.0.0.1:45541         ESTABLISHED 11625/login-server
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:45543         127.0.0.1:6901          ESTABLISHED 11871/ladmin    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:6901          127.0.0.1:45543         ESTABLISHED 11625/login-server
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:45541         127.0.0.1:6901          ESTABLISHED 11624/char-server
...I have not a clue what it's doing with 45541-3; I didn't set that. I assume its normal.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by Jaxad0127 »

So, you get that when you first try to connect to your server?

The server is actually 3 servers (login-server, char-server, and map-server), plus an administrative tool (ladmin). They talk to each other over ports other than the ones the game client connects to.

If the client and server are on the same LAN, check lan_support.conf and make sure the right local IPs are set there. This is not needed if they are on the same machine.
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by ravenshade »

The three servers are located on the same machine, it's just me the client that's off base. I'll double check the conf files anyway

Edit.

ladmin_local, lan_support and login_local all point to 6901, with the ip address of 127.0.0.1
Frost
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 851
Joined: 09 Sep 2010, 06:20
Location: California, USA

Re: Error While loading items.xml

Post by Frost »

ravenshade wrote:

Code: Select all

tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:6901            0.0.0.0:*             LISTEN      11625/login-server
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:6901          127.0.0.1:45541       ESTABLISHED 11625/login-server
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:45543         127.0.0.1:6901        ESTABLISHED 11871/ladmin    
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:6901          127.0.0.1:45543       ESTABLISHED 11625/login-server
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:45541         127.0.0.1:6901        ESTABLISHED 11624/char-server
...I have not a clue what it's doing with 45541-3; I didn't set that. I assume its normal.
Aha. That's showing Established connections, where one side is the listener (6901) and the other side is the randomly chosen source port to open the connection. In this case, char-server is connecting from (random high port 45541) to the login-server 6901. ladmin is connecting from random port 45543 to login-server 6901.
As you say, that's normal.

Nice work so far!
You earn respect by how you live, not by what you demand.
-unknown
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by ravenshade »

*points to absolute fail of being unable to connect*

But thanks nevertheless, it's been a tricky ride trying to get a 2d game server to install, let alone to being able to get the client half way to connecting, so I'm hopeful!

Which brings me to a good point. Thanks for the help! :alt-3:

An extra tid bit of information.... the server does recognise the connection.

Code: Select all

quellu@Niflheim:~/Servers/ManaWorld2/server-data$ Connection of the GM (level:99) account 'Feina' accepted.
LAN test (result): WAN source.
It just...doesn't do anything with it o.O
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by Jaxad0127 »

Are the server and client on the same LAN? If so, make sure lan_support.conf has the right IP to give the client for the char- and map-servers. If not, make sure char_local.conf has the right public IP for the server.

Also, if you got that far, then you were able to connect to the login-server and log in. It helps if you tell us what is happening instead of leaving out details. If you can't connect to the login-server, you won't get the log in prompt.
Image
Post Reply