Error Couldn't connect to remote host. [SOLVED]

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by ravenshade »

Yep, hooked up to the same router. Checking now.

Athena Ladmin

Code: Select all

// Athena Ladmin local configuration file.
// Login Server IP
login_ip:127.0.0.1
// Login Server Port
login_port: 6901

// Administrative password, used to connect remotely to server.
// NOTICE: If you enable remote administration, you should change its value for security
admin_pass: admin
Lan Support

Code: Select all

// the IP LAN players should use to connect to the char-server
lan_char_ip: 127.0.0.1
// lan_char_ip: 192.168.1.100

// the IP that LAN players should use to connect to the map-server
lan_map_ip: 127.0.0.1
// lan_map_ip: 192.168.1.100

// put here the Subnet mask of your LAN
// see output of ifconfig (Linux) or ipconfig (Windows)
subnet: 127.0.0.1
subnetmask: 255.255.255.255
// subnetmask: 255.0.0.0
login local.conf

Code: Select all

// Athena Login Server local configuration file.

// Port to bind Login Server to (always binds to all IP addresses)
login_port: 6901

// Whether remote administration is enabled or disabled (1 for enabled, 0 for disabled)
admin_state: 1
As far as I'm aware that's set up fine?

Ifconfig...

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0e:a6:88:85:36  
          inet addr:192.168.1.64  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::2:856/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:681102 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:464806 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:492342764 (492.3 MB)  TX bytes:116404635 (116.4 MB)
Last edited by ravenshade on 11 Jun 2013, 06:20, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by Jaxad0127 »

It's not setup fine. lan_support.conf needs to have the local IP of the machine hosting the server set in lan_char_ip and lan_map_ip. Also, that isn't looking like our files. Where did you get the server from?
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by ravenshade »

Jaxad0127 wrote:It's not setup fine. lan_support.conf needs to have the local IP of the machine hosting the server set in lan_char_ip and lan_map_ip. Also, that isn't looking like our files. Where did you get the server from?
...you mean it needs the 192.168...address? (Don't have a public one). Lemme see if that'll work.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by Jaxad0127 »

We have an article detailing how to setup a server: Set up a Server.
Image
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by ravenshade »

Which is... to put it nicely, clear as mud.
"The login-server, char-server and map-server must be on the same subnetwork (not necessary on the same computer). You can not use eAthena if you want to install the servers on 2 or more different LAN.

First of all: you must configure your router to forward your WAN IP (one or more) and port (default: 6900, 6121 and 5121) to the right concerned computer(s) (if default port, forward 6900 port to the (LAN IP) login-server, 6121 port to the (LAN IP) char-server, etc.). After, set in char_athena.conf and map_athena.conf files the WAN IP and the right ports that you use. Give to WAN people (client that are not on your LAN) your WAN IP to have an access to your server. At this point, all players outside your LAN can access to your server(s).

Now, you must parameter your LAN for the servers.

Set the LAN IP of the char-server and the map-server in this file (lan_char_ip and lan_map_ip).
Set the definition of your LAN in this file (subnet and subnetmask).

When you load/start login-server and char-server, read what the server displays, and specially the section ---LAN CONFIGURATION---. "
...apparently no one wants to explain what a subnetwork is, or what it should be set to. Googling this lead me to nothing conclusive unfortunately. Secondly. I cannot provide a WAN IP, so I'm having to leave that out. The ports as described aren't what I'm seeing in my server.

Where do I find char_athena.conf and map_athena.conf?
User avatar
o11c
Grand Knight
Grand Knight
Posts: 2262
Joined: 20 Feb 2011, 21:09
Location: ^ ^

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by o11c »

Technically, it's not ever necessary to set up lan_support.conf ... since it says it was a WAN, look at the IPs in the main config files.

If you *do* want to play within the same LAN, lan_support.conf should *not* mention localhost.
Former programmer for the TMWA server.
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by ravenshade »

At the moment, it doesn't mention localhost or 127.0.0.1... I've switched em all to 192.168.1.64.

I haven't the foggiest if I've port-forwarded correctly either!

Secondly...where are these main config files?

Protip - Put the config files in the conf folder...not buried everywhere else? (Found some in World).

Edit:

Really hoping that the subnet is the BCast....

...right...

Thank you for setting up another server effectively. Please add to the wiki that the conf files are...all over the place, and the file system isn't at all intuitive. People need to look in conf, world>conf and world/map/conf >.> I mean seriously.

...now time to get this working with Socks hehehe. Before that though, sleep.

Thanks again.
User avatar
o11c
Grand Knight
Grand Knight
Posts: 2262
Joined: 20 Feb 2011, 21:09
Location: ^ ^

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by o11c »

The multiple conf/ folders are by design: because tmwa is more than one program, and each of them needs its own configuration. It used to be that you had no clue what files you needed to look in for what problems.
Former programmer for the TMWA server.
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 16:08
Location: Germany

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by Crush »

...and now you know which file you have to edit, but not where you find it :alt-6:
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
ravenshade
Peon
Peon
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 12:35

Re: Error Couldn't connect to remote host.

Post by ravenshade »

Geh. Thanks muchly!
Post Reply