Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
User avatar
.:age:.
Peon
Peon
Posts: 17
Joined: 13 Jul 2009, 23:01
Location: USA
Contact:

Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by .:age:. » 20 Jul 2009, 00:45

Using TMW v0.0.29.1 (eAthena) on Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.

Didn't see this mentioned elsewhere, but in Snow town, the slimes often freeze in place. You can hit the rudolph slimes, but you cannot hit the santa slimes. After a bit of rudolph slime massacring, the santa slime does a mini-teleport, starts moving, and then can be hit again.

Anyone else have this problem?
Attachments
frozenslimes.png
The santa slime and minions are frozen in semi-geometric fashion.
frozenslimes.png (24.53 KiB) Viewed 726 times
"The past often attacks the present with the pain of memories."
-Unknown
aroleon
Peon
Peon
Posts: 68
Joined: 10 May 2009, 14:18

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by aroleon » 20 Jul 2009, 02:00

Anyone else have this problem?
I thought it was just part of the "magic" of santa slimes :)

Yes, I get this too, only on santa slimes... it happens on other creatures only under extreme lag.

Is there something special about the movement and/or processing for santa slimes?

I'm on Arch Linux x86_64, rolling release (current version), running 0.0.29.1 client.

aro
User avatar
Enchilado!
Novice
Novice
Posts: 334
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 10:55
Location: Between a rock and a hard place.

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by Enchilado! » 20 Jul 2009, 02:14

There must be something special about them, I expect - after all, they do Smileys, and have a gang of Rudolph Slimes who will attack you should you attack the Santa.

~probably something to do with that,
Enchilado
Inkweaver
Novice
Novice
Posts: 171
Joined: 10 Mar 2009, 16:13

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by Inkweaver » 20 Jul 2009, 03:25

Santa Slimes are known for masking their true location.

They appear in one place, and do an evil smiley, or some other irritating emoticon that teases you into attacking them. But nothing happens because they are really somewhere else nearby.

What you have to do is press auto target, set the target to the santa slime, then walk around the nearby area hitting until you finally find it.

When you hit the Santa Slime then you'll see where it really is.

It think that it is a feature, not a bug.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by Jaxad0127 » 20 Jul 2009, 03:59

It's mostly lag causing a desync.
Image
aroleon
Peon
Peon
Posts: 68
Joined: 10 May 2009, 14:18

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by aroleon » 20 Jul 2009, 08:27

jaxad0127 wrote:It's mostly lag causing a desync.
Hmmm... I wonder about that... are you sure? It only happens on this map, and only with santa slimes. The only other time I have seen monsters behaving in the same way was a few weeks ago when we had that severe DDOS attack.

aro
Inkweaver
Novice
Novice
Posts: 171
Joined: 10 Mar 2009, 16:13

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by Inkweaver » 20 Jul 2009, 14:38

Santa slimes have always acted that way for me, ever since I began playing about six months or so ago. So its not server lag, and not DDOS.

I thought it was a purposeful feature.
User avatar
Goku
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 925
Joined: 15 Feb 2009, 01:57

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Post by Goku » 27 Jul 2009, 22:39

I also have had this problem. I dont' think it's lag either or even a feature. Maybe it's a bug with the Santa Slime.. if not it's a wierd feature.
IGN - Trunks
Pixel Artist In Training
Work On Forest Armor
And Forest Monster
Post Reply