Page 1 of 1

Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 00:45
by .:age:.
Using TMW v0.0.29.1 (eAthena) on Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.

Didn't see this mentioned elsewhere, but in Snow town, the slimes often freeze in place. You can hit the rudolph slimes, but you cannot hit the santa slimes. After a bit of rudolph slime massacring, the santa slime does a mini-teleport, starts moving, and then can be hit again.

Anyone else have this problem?

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 02:00
by aroleon
Anyone else have this problem?
I thought it was just part of the "magic" of santa slimes :)

Yes, I get this too, only on santa slimes... it happens on other creatures only under extreme lag.

Is there something special about the movement and/or processing for santa slimes?

I'm on Arch Linux x86_64, rolling release (current version), running 0.0.29.1 client.

aro

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 02:14
by Enchilado!
There must be something special about them, I expect - after all, they do Smileys, and have a gang of Rudolph Slimes who will attack you should you attack the Santa.

~probably something to do with that,
Enchilado

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 03:25
by Inkweaver
Santa Slimes are known for masking their true location.

They appear in one place, and do an evil smiley, or some other irritating emoticon that teases you into attacking them. But nothing happens because they are really somewhere else nearby.

What you have to do is press auto target, set the target to the santa slime, then walk around the nearby area hitting until you finally find it.

When you hit the Santa Slime then you'll see where it really is.

It think that it is a feature, not a bug.

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 03:59
by Jaxad0127
It's mostly lag causing a desync.

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 08:27
by aroleon
jaxad0127 wrote:It's mostly lag causing a desync.
Hmmm... I wonder about that... are you sure? It only happens on this map, and only with santa slimes. The only other time I have seen monsters behaving in the same way was a few weeks ago when we had that severe DDOS attack.

aro

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 20 Jul 2009, 14:38
by Inkweaver
Santa slimes have always acted that way for me, ever since I began playing about six months or so ago. So its not server lag, and not DDOS.

I thought it was a purposeful feature.

Re: Windows Vista: Frozen Santa Slimes

Posted: 27 Jul 2009, 22:39
by Goku
I also have had this problem. I dont' think it's lag either or even a feature. Maybe it's a bug with the Santa Slime.. if not it's a wierd feature.