my first attempt at pixel art

All development of pixel art, maps and other graphics.

straelyn
Novice
Novice

my first attempt at pixel art

Post by straelyn »

Attached is something of a modified skeleton, that I like to call a wight. I used mtPaint (I'm relatively new to the program and the artform), and it took me a few hours to do the modifications (I wanted it to look decent). Let me know what you think. The idea was they'd be something akin to a harder-hitting skeleton that gives a little bit more exp. They have red glowy evilness! (which is extinguished when they die)
Attachments
monster-wight.png
monster-wight.png (45.98 KiB) Viewed 4521 times
straelyn
Novice
Novice

Re: my first attempt at pixel art

Post by straelyn »

version 2, with modifications to the ribcage and right "fist"
Attachments
monster-wight3.png
monster-wight3.png (46.67 KiB) Viewed 4505 times
straelyn
Novice
Novice

Post by straelyn »

Here's a tileset to go with it: catacombs1
Attachments
catacombs1.png
catacombs1.png (125.18 KiB) Viewed 4486 times
o11c
Grand Knight
Grand Knight

Post by o11c »

We don't really need new palette-swapped tilesets ... there are some technical problems with the main cave tileset (among other things, some walls are not the same height, and there are some feature that can't be built)
Former programmer for the TMWA server.
straelyn
Novice
Novice

Post by straelyn »

well, the ice caves were a palette swap; if you'll notice, the torches on this are normal :)
I figured the moldy green would be perfect for under the swamp/graveyard area.
I don't understand though, how can there be a problem with it if it's used everywhere?
o11c
Grand Knight
Grand Knight

Post by o11c »

straelyn wrote:if you'll notice, the torches on this are normal :)

I noticed, but if they're exactly the same as the other tileset, they shouldn't be in this one at all.

Are the other items from a tileset I don't have memorized, or did you draw them from scratch?