SO you want to know "What & How-to" Pixel Art

All development of pixel art, maps and other graphics.

wushin
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser

SO you want to know "What & How-to" Pixel Art

Post by wushin »

So far one of the best introductory posts to pixel art. It has a nice explanation of pixel art and concepts with examples. I found this to be very helpful.

http://www.pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_p ... ?TID=11299

Thank you Varuna.
Cassy
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser

Re: SO you want to know "What & How-to" Pixel Art

Post by Cassy »

Are you guys also interested in giving advices?

I'm a total beginner in pixel art. Ok, I once changed some colors in pictures or changed tiny things, but this doesn't count. But I want to continue with this because I somehow really enjoy it. And who knows, maybe I can create something for TMW one day...

I was searching for something small and easy to start with, but also something TMW-related. So after thinking I started to create a fun hat:
Huet.png
Huet.png (1.76 KiB) Viewed 5182 times
As you can see, I put the orange Silk Robe next to the hat. That's because I don't know how to choose a fitting palette and copied the colors from the Silk Robe. Actually I didn't even have a palette, just two colors (orange and black for the outline), but then I remembered this thread. I also don't know if I used the graduation (is this the correct word?) of the colors correctly.

This was done with MS Paint.

Another thing: I'm not very happy with the hole at the top of the hat, but I'm not sure how to make it look better yet...

The hat itself is, of course, no real suggestion, just an example for beginning with pixel art.

Please give me some advices how to continue and what I should do different. Thanks!
Main characters:
Lv.94 - Cassy - speedarcher on dark path, bunny-wannabe, would like to ride on a Mouboo once...
Lv.95 - Biqcassy - mage on light path, addicted to her Fluffy Hat, love-hates Fallens, really misses Confused Tree...