Object Set design! Easy art jobs for the casually involved.

All development of pixel art, maps and other graphics.

Kyokai
Warrior
Warrior

Object Set design! Easy art jobs for the casually involved.

Post by Kyokai »

I'm not a pixel artist, but I want to make some sort of contribution to help speed up the art development (especially tileset and equipment set). Anyway, I've devised a few object sets (the items that populate the tilesets, either for flavor or as interactive objects.) Object sets aren't bound to a specific area or map, and can be added in anywhere as event triggers, interactive items, or simply flavor. To create an immersive world, we need alot of unique objects. For this reason, I've created this thread and the samples below to give those casually interested in pixel art a chance to show their skills and make a real contribution.

The items that appear, in top left to bottom right order are:
First picture:
wooden door, jail door, castle door, windowed door, future door.
Second picture:
ancient tome A, ancient tome B, cupboard/wardrobe, closed average book, open average book, big bookshelf, small bookshelf, book stand

These were made with MSPaint (ghetto fabulous, eh? :D). They're in PNG format, but not really ready to be put into TMW yet (they don't have that cool alpha layer thing, and they probably need some touching up). Anyhow, just something to get us thinking about how we can all help with tileset development in a modest way (even non-pixel artists). The template I used for these is below. Why not download it and make your own additions to this element of tileset design? (These only took an hour apiece. It's super-easy) :D

Template:

if you want to upload your object sets to the site, I recommend http://www.imageshack.us. It's fairly simple for first time uploaders, and requires no subscription.
The Mana World System Coordinator.
View the Systems