A little Inspiration

All development of pixel art, maps and other graphics.

Inkweaver
Novice
Novice

A little Inspiration

Post by Inkweaver »

Through another topic I found this beautiful screenshot of a tileset that makes me totally envious:

http://www.rpg-palace.com/artists/outdoors.png

I wish I was a good enough pixel artist to make TMW look like that. ;)

Anyway, you might use it for ideas regarding new tilesets / new tiles. Obviously we can't rip tiles from it, but it might give some of you ideas.

I especially liked the way dense forests were made, although I think that swamp green canopy should be turned into solid leaves. That would be a great way to make a dense forest for the forested parts of TMW.
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser

Re: A little Inspiration

Post by Crush »

sorry, but I think that tileset totally sucks.

1. All the objects look "soulless". everything is too perfect and clean. There are no scratches, cracks or dents anywhere. Even the ruin tiles look brand new.
2. Everything has either perfectly straight lines or perfect quarter-circles with 1-tile radius. This looks very unnatural, especially on the mountains. Mother Nature does not own a compass or a straightedge. Sure, the medium forces you to design things in straight angles, but a good pixel artist does his best to hide this. This artist didn't even try.
3. Pillow shading sins here and there
4. Inconsistent perspective
5. Boring textures
... I could rant on and on for hours.

The only plus-point I can find is that there is a lot of variety in the tileset.

...but I have to admit that the mapper did really good work with what he got.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.

You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
John P
Warrior
Warrior

Post by John P »