Using art from TMW in another free gameproject?

Got something on your mind about the project? This is the correct place for that.

Forum rules

This forum is for feature requests, content changes additions, anything not a Bug in the software.
Please report all bugs on the Support Forums

Nikke
Newly Registered User

Using art from TMW in another free gameproject?

Post by Nikke »

Hello,

In my spare time I'm making an RPG that could use some game graphics (I'm a programmer).
Am I allowed to use a tileset from TMW, provided that I credit the authors?
Could anyone tell me what the exact license of the art provided with the game is, and how I know which people I need to credit?

Thanks in advance,
Nikke
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser

Re: Using art from TMW in another free gameproject?

Post by Crush »

The license for everything in TMW, including the graphics, is the GNU General Public License Version 2 or later.
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/old-licenses/gpl-2.0.html

That means you can use them when you also license your game under the GNU General Public License.

You can credit the "The Mana World Development Team".

Good luck with your project, and have fun!
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.

You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Nikke
Newly Registered User

Post by Nikke »

Hi Crush, thanks for your quick reply. However, I still don't understand something:

My game is written in PHP and javascript (jQuery). Would this mean I have to release my PHP source-code?
The javascript code is already "released" as it is simply client javascript that needs to be loaded anyway..
But my PHP code does not "touch" the GPL as I simply show html images that are property of TMW.