Help with line 5?

Content and general development discussion, including maps, quests, and server code from the development team.
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 05 Jun 2010, 23:03

5. Browse to the directory where you would like to have eAthena. When you want it in c:/tmw, for example, the command would be cd /cygdrive/c/tmw/ (directory must exist. when it does not you can create it with mkdir /cygdrive/c/tmw/)

It sort of confuses me.

Also, it doesn't allow me to create or put it in the directory I want it in.

Any help?

Thanks. ^_^
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 06 Jun 2010, 18:40

Hades1 wrote:5. Browse to the directory where you would like to have eAthena. When you want it in c:/tmw, for example, the command would be cd /cygdrive/c/tmw/ (directory must exist. when it does not you can create it with mkdir /cygdrive/c/tmw/)

It sort of confuses me.

Also, it doesn't allow me to create or put it in the directory I want it in.

Any help?

Thanks. ^_^
Where do you want it?
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 06 Jun 2010, 18:46

I normally put everything on my desktop. So, desktop. :P
Matt
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1746
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 11:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Matt » 06 Jun 2010, 18:48

:D
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 06 Jun 2010, 19:10

Spam, Matt? What was the ":D" for?
Matt
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1746
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 11:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Matt » 06 Jun 2010, 19:14

Just spamming.

Oh, and the fact that you want to install your server in your user desktop folder ;)
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Crush » 06 Jun 2010, 19:19

Hades1 wrote:5. Browse to the directory where you would like to have eAthena. When you want it in c:/tmw, for example, the command would be cd /cygdrive/c/tmw/ (directory must exist. when it does not you can create it with mkdir /cygdrive/c/tmw/)

It sort of confuses me.
Did you ever use a command shell before?
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 06 Jun 2010, 19:45

@Matt Don't see humor in it.

@Crush No, I'm actually unsure of what that is.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 06 Jun 2010, 21:12

Then /cygdrive/c/path/to/your/desktop/w/e.
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 06 Jun 2010, 21:50

I seem like such an idiot. :|

Could you post an example of what yours would be if you were to put yours on the desktop?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 06 Jun 2010, 22:16

I don't use Windows, so....

Which version of Windows are you using?
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 06 Jun 2010, 23:09

Windows XP Professional.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 06 Jun 2010, 23:13

/cygdrive/c/Documents and Settings/username/IE/Desktop/ (translating/adjusting the italic part as needed).
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 06 Jun 2010, 23:35

IE, what's that?

and there's no need for editing it, I guess. It looks like that would work. :P

Sorry for acting like an idiot, I'm new to a lot of this. :P you're being a great help.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 07 Jun 2010, 02:29

IE probably wouldn't need translating anyways.
Image
Post Reply