Help with line 5?

Content and general development discussion, including maps, quests, and server code from the development team.
theboomboomcars
Peon
Peon
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Apr 2009, 18:05

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by theboomboomcars » 07 Jun 2010, 02:45

On my wifes window's xp computer the desktop path is what jaxad put minus the IE part.
If you navigate to the Desktop folder using Explorer it will give you the path, minus the cygwin part.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 07 Jun 2010, 04:29

Hm...in some situations, IE is part of the path. Anyways, there it is. Knowledge of how your computer works and how to use a shell will greatly increase your success rate when running servers.
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 07 Jun 2010, 11:35

Enter git clone git://gitorious.org/tmw-eathena/mainline.git eathena to download the most recent sourcecode of the server.

Does that mean get it from : http://gitorious.org/tmw-eathena/mainli ... eathena.sh because that sorta looks like the source code.
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Crush » 07 Jun 2010, 12:29

No, that's the linux script to start and stop the server.

The sourcecode is a large number of .c and .h files.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 07 Jun 2010, 20:06

I'm using windows xp professional.

So, I go to the site, what .c and .h files are taken?
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Crush » 07 Jun 2010, 20:45

All of them. But using git to download them is really much easier.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 07 Jun 2010, 20:55

Yeah, isn't that one of the links I posted?
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Crush » 07 Jun 2010, 21:19

  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 07 Jun 2010, 23:21

TMW eAthena client data, or eAthena Data?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 08 Jun 2010, 01:05

Please read the tutorials, they go over everything you need.
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 08 Jun 2010, 02:17

Will do, sorry for the questions. :/
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 09 Jun 2010, 23:05

The way I do it is via Cygwin, with the base packages and gcc and git installed through it. (I think that is all I have.)

Start up cygwin and navigate out to where you want to have everything cloned too.
I have my mana world stuff in C:\the mana world\. (cd "../../cygdrive/c/the mana world")

Then I clone eathena with (this checks it out to new folder called ea):
git clone git://gitorious.org/tmw-eathena/mainline.git ea
(If you already have cloned it then just do a git pull to make sure you're up to date.)


Move to the ea directory (With cd ea)

Then type make.

Next you'll need the server data, which you can get with (cd out of the ea dir first with cd ..):
git clone git://gitorious.org/tmw-eathena-data/mainline.git eadata
(Again if you've already cloned it then just do a git pull.)

Okay you can close Cygwin now.

Now back in explorer to go to your mana world folder and make a new folder.
(We don't really want to start chucking files into our checked out git repository's that's just messy.)
From your cygwin/bin folder copy crygwin1.dll and cygz.dll in to it.
From the ea folder copy the the exe's.
From the eadata folder copy everything besides the .git folder.

Configure the server (look and edit the files in conf) and forward the correct ports if needed (defaults: 6901, 5122, 6122.) and you should be good to go.

I hope that makes sense and is helpful.
I could do a zip of the binaries if needed (aka you cant be bothered with the whole cygwin stuff), then all you'll need to do is use msysgit to clone the server data and configure the server.



I found this old tutorial; and in the enlarged bolded area it says well.. what it says xD, I don't completely understand. When I click "clone repository" at http://gitorious.org/tmw-eathena it asks for an SSH key, and I have to be logged in for this to work.

So, e.e.. I really want this server to work, but the things aren't coming a long well. xD
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 09 Jun 2010, 23:27

If you just installed those, I doubt it built all of the servers. You need more for the map-server.

Steps 6 and 7 in the tutorial clearly list commands to be entered into cygwin.
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Armadeus » 10 Jun 2010, 01:12

I entered those but it did nothing.

Is it the bolded words? :/
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: Help with line 5?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 10 Jun 2010, 02:20

Did you install git?
Image
Post Reply