Using TMW's graphics in another game

Talk about anything, including games and servers not affiliated with The Mana World.
Hanno
Peon
Peon

Using TMW's graphics in another game

Post by Hanno »

Hi!

Before I start:
I wasn't sure if this post fits into the graphics development forum, so I just placed it here. I hope this place is not too wrong ;)

First I want to introduce myself:
My name is Hanno, and I'm a student from Germany. I've been working on online game development for quite a while now (it will be 5 years this summer), as part of the Elrador project (the website is in german, so it may not be interesting for most of you).
When I started I was a total newbie, and over the years I produced many failures as I learned. So far I haven't done anything playable, but hopefully that will change soon ;)

My server-side software has become quite usable recently, so I decided to code a small techdemo. Nothing special, just a primitive graphical chat.
Unfortunately I totally lack any graphical talent, also I don't know anyone who could make graphics for me. But lucky as I am I found this project and its wonderful graphics. Kudos to the artists!

I searched this forum a bit, and I got the impression that all your graphics are licensed under the GPL. If I'm wrong with this, now is definitely the right time to tell me, as I haven't released anything, yet.

I want to discuss some points, regarding the GPL and how it applies to my work. Please tell me if any of those points is not ok for you.

1. As far as I understand the GPL, including your graphics makes my demo a derivate work, which means that the conditions of the GPL apply to the whole package, when everything is distributed together.
My code is licensed under the MIT license (BSD-like open source license) and some other libraries (MIT and LGPL) are linked statically, so everything should be GPL-compatible.