[NOT A BUG] strange cpu usage

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Locked
NachbarsLumpi
Peon
Peon
Posts: 9
Joined: 27 Jun 2006, 13:17
Contact:

[NOT A BUG] strange cpu usage

Post by NachbarsLumpi » 27 Jun 2006, 13:21

the game uses 100% of (one from) my cpu(s) .. is this wanted or just a bug where something runs that shouldn't run?

OS: linux fedora core 3 (386smp dual core)

if you are not using select's may this be the reason .. you should definitly change it :-D
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Post by Crush » 27 Jun 2006, 13:28

we don't use select. we use a 3rd party library for the low level network stuff. but maybe that library does.

did you activate the FPS limit in the setup window? if not tmw forces the cpu to draw as much frames as possible.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
User avatar
Modanung
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1719
Joined: 20 May 2005, 16:51
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Modanung » 27 Jun 2006, 13:38

Yea use the frame rate limiter, you can set it in the config file.

It is normal for games without an active frame rate limiter to draw full CPU power, so no bug.
If you're looking for 3D FOSS games be sure to check out LucKey Productions on itch.io
Locked