Page 1 of 3

Ingame warning messages

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 20:33
by HoraK-FDF

Here are some warning messages there are many more but this are the ones that are currently in Debug tab. Should I post others as I find them?

When stepping on the exit square on the ship:
[20:22] NPCDB: Warning, unknown NPC ID 45 requested
[20:22] resources/db/npcdb.cpp:194: in function `get'

Same in Katzes cave (Cat Ears Quest):
[21:54] NPCDB: Warning, unknown NPC ID 45 requested
[21:54] resources/db/npcdb.cpp:194: in function `get'


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 22:02
by HoraK-FDF

on start
[22:00] VirtFs::unmountZip not exists:
/home/td/.local/share/mana/updates/themanaworld.gi
thub.io/tmwa-server-data/fix/manaplus_mod_translat ions.zip
[22:00] fs/virtfs/fs.cpp:699: in function `unmountZip'


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 23:44
by HoraK-FDF

[23:40] Image loading error: graphics/items/
[23:40] resources/loaders/imageloader.cpp:70: in function load'
[23:40] Error loading image: graphics/items/
[23:40] resources/resourcemanager/resourcemanager.cpp:450: in function
get'
[23:40] VirtFs::rwops_seek: create rwops error: graphics/items/
[23:40] fs/virtfs/rwops.cpp:72: in function `create_rwops'


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 24 Nov 2020, 01:00
by jak1

depends on the item u had in inventory, or on ground nearby

HoraK-FDF wrote: 23 Nov 2020, 23:44

[23:40] Error loading image: graphics/items/

the npc id 45 should/can be ignored

Code: Select all

npcid: 45   warps/doors

Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 24 Nov 2020, 01:21
by HoraK-FDF

but should there be no warnings ingame?


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 24 Nov 2020, 01:25
by jak1

idk why the npcid gets thrown, the images is more weird, theres no filename, maybe an xml issue


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 24 Nov 2020, 17:35
by HoraK-FDF

[17:07] SDL ERROR: DEBUG ERROR No free channels available
[17:07] utils/sdl2logger.cpp:120: in function `logCallback'


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 25 Nov 2020, 07:23
by jak1

that happens when SDL cant reserve a channel for sounds, maybe no sound onboard, or any program uses all channels?
i dont know ur hardware, sry^^
in case it plays sound, i would may disable the option in Misc-> (---logging---) enable debug logging in case u enabled it :)


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 27 Nov 2020, 04:25
by Hello=)
HoraK-FDF wrote: 24 Nov 2020, 17:35

[17:07] SDL ERROR: DEBUG ERROR No free channels available
[17:07] utils/sdl2logger.cpp:120: in function `logCallback'

Do you use Linux? And if so, is it Alsa, rather than pulseaudio?


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 03 Dec 2020, 06:41
by HoraK-FDF
Hello=) wrote: 27 Nov 2020, 04:25
HoraK-FDF wrote: 24 Nov 2020, 17:35

[17:07] SDL ERROR: DEBUG ERROR No free channels available
[17:07] utils/sdl2logger.cpp:120: in function `logCallback'

Do you use Linux? And if so, is it Alsa, rather than pulseaudio?

yes i'm on linux (Debian) and I have purged pulseaudio since it often did not respond. This message happens especially when a large group of spiders is on screen.


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 03 Dec 2020, 06:42
by HoraK-FDF

[06:33] event: other: 2304

what does this one mean?


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 04 Dec 2020, 08:40
by HoraK-FDF

this all happens where the injured Mouboo is.

[08:33] graphics/sprites/monsters/mouboo.xml: No image at index 117
[08:33] resources/sprite/spritedef.cpp:619: in function `addSequence'

this one had multiple occurrences where index was: 86, 87, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 166, 117

[08:33] graphics/sprites/monsters/mouboo.xml: No image at index 118 at direction ''
[08:33] resources/sprite/spritedef.cpp:396: in function `loadAnimation'

this one had multiple occurrences where index was: 73, 88, 103, 118


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 05 Dec 2020, 12:03
by HoraK-FDF

this happens always in Terranite Cave when I go a sec afk with switch character and then come back

[11:33] Error creating surface for atlas. Size: 16384x2048
[11:33] resources/atlas/atlasmanager.cpp:351: in function createSDLAtlas'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/cave.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in function
readTileset'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/cave_x2.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in function readTileset'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/cave_bilevel.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in function
readTileset'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/woodland_ground.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in function `readTileset'


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 05 Dec 2020, 14:45
by jak1

this is an issue in the clientdata some used tilesets arnt in the maps.xml for your current map.
you can disable '[x] Enable texture atlases (openGL)' in SET->Performance

HoraK-FDF wrote: 05 Dec 2020, 12:03

[11:33] Error creating surface for atlas. Size: 16384x2048
[11:33] resources/atlas/atlasmanager.cpp:351: in function createSDLAtlas'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/cave.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in functionreadTileset'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/cave_x2.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in function readTileset'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/cave_bilevel.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in functionreadTileset'
[11:33] Error: image '../graphics/tiles/woodland_ground.png' not present in atlas
[11:33] resources/mapreader.cpp:1146: in function `readTileset'


Re: Ingame warning messages

Posted: 06 Dec 2020, 01:29
by Hello=)

yes i'm on linux (Debian) and I have purged pulseaudio since it often did not respond. This message happens especially when a large group of spiders is on screen.

Then it seems there're some issues with Alsa mixing or so. Historically ALSA had rather stupid api, where either your sound card got hardware mixer and can play >1 sound at once (but ofc HW only supports limited # of chans) - or no mixing at all. Later ppl got fed up with this and software mixer plugin got added to support SW mixing. Still, it only used on cards where no HW mixer exist.

It's not all the story. Pulseaudio appeared because from app dev point of view alsa api is quite troublesome. Pulseaudio runs on top of alsa, exposing way more sane api to programs - and it can also do resampling, mixing, etc in process. So programs don't have to do hardcore DSP in their code themselves. Either way, due to need to do hardcore DSP processing in app code, plain alsa support in programs and libs could be missing or quite dodgy. I'd say I'll blame ALSA for their weird api and failure to provide sane api to app devs (e.g. saying mixer is "optional" plugin? oh wtf, so everyone still to code their own sound mixing code as fallback path in libs/apps?).

Pulse did that tho - so most apps use it, and/or enjoy far less buggy support. However, pulse inherently does some resamping and mixing to make it up for ALSA api idiocy, it is inherently realtime-critical task. Therefore there're things like rtkit to assign it realtime priority and monitor it. Say Ubuntu setups all this machinery automatically. Debian could be less polished, especially if you go on your own. But if you hate pulse too much, there is "apulse" alsa plugin to pretend you have "pulse audio" when you don't really have one. Haven't tried this one though, so no warranty implied.

TL;DR: seems your sound system bugs app and/or libsdl a bit, not the other way. Guess libsdl2 got more of this stuff sorted out, but still, it's quite uncommon to run apps on just plain alsa. And ofc TMW client have to play >1 sound at once. My guess is that when certain concurrency exceeded your sound system fails to play more sounds, client reports that, what else could it do?

Also if you have whatever sound interruptions, stutter or something... whoever plays games may really want RT_PREEMPT kernels. "Normal" kernels are more suitable for things like SERVERS. I'm not really sure why both Debian and ubuntu install THESE on DESKTOPS by default, maybe to have like 2..5% extra in benchmarks for marketing purposes, etc. However, "server" kernels have considerable task switching latency and it really bad for gaming, sound processing and other "realtime" tasks. So you may want -rt kernels on desktop (linux-image-rt-amd64 package, preferrably recent one from backports, like 5.9).