TMW on vista?

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
JoshLangley
Peon
Peon
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 06:42
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by JoshLangley » 26 Jun 2007, 09:31

Hey, I've got Vista installed.

For me selecting openGL made the screen flicker to black, back and forth until it became mostly black (guess - possibly flipping depth buffers incorrectly, and causing memory leak???) .
Video Card is an Radeon X300.

Windows Vista Ultimate version - up to date as of 21/6/07 @ 2:40am.

When I learn how to compile the client version on my PC I will look into it further. :lol:

p.s apologies for the necro, but it didn't look like a closed issue
kind regards,
Josh Langley.

http://www.myspace.com/Langerz
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 2526
Joined: 13 Apr 2004, 20:11
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by ElvenProgrammer » 26 Jun 2007, 11:06

Actually I play TMW in OpenGL mode without any problem (GeForce 7900 GS on Vista), the first suggestion would be updating your video drivers
JoshLangley
Peon
Peon
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 06:42
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by JoshLangley » 26 Jun 2007, 11:50

ElvenProgrammer wrote:Actually I play TMW in OpenGL mode without any problem (GeForce 7900 GS on Vista), the first suggestion would be updating your video drivers
Yeah, it's an old videocard (or just plain crap, what can I say, I'm a tightass hehe), so that could very well be the problem. I will go and hunt now. :)

update -
It had occured when I installed tmw for the first time, and when I enabled openGL and fullscreen mode. I remember because the only way I could play it anymore was to look through the source code to find out where the xml config file was placed, so I could disable openGL, so it would not do the screen flicker.
My driver was the latest, I rolled back to an earlier version opened tmw, and it worked. Puzzled, I re-installed the latest driver back then opened tmw with fullscreen and openGL support, still no problem. Since I can't replicate this issue, I don't know what it was. It could have been an issue due to overclocking and heating, I don't have a clue (and I swear I was not smoking anything ^-^). oh well it's running fine which is the most important thing. ty :)
kind regards,
Josh Langley.

http://www.myspace.com/Langerz
maryelser
Peon
Peon
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 Nov 2007, 23:35

Post by maryelser » 19 Nov 2007, 16:40

anyone still having problems running game on vista? i posted in another section for windows already but i'll put it here too, just in case someone missed the other one. i had to set my opengl to 0 in order to get game to work on vista32. i hate vista but didnt know how much i hated it until i bought this comp in March. i have trouble playing games on here that worked fine on my winxp. i really like tmw. i also tried using virtual windowsxp but... i REALLY couldnt figure it out and it made my comp soo slow. so i scrapped that idea and searched until i found this solution.
maryelser
Peon
Peon
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 Nov 2007, 23:35

Post by maryelser » 19 Nov 2007, 16:41

i didnt update video drivers or anything, just change opengl setting to o.
evadem
Novice
Novice
Posts: 112
Joined: 31 Dec 2007, 01:07
Location: Iowa - USA

Post by evadem » 31 Jan 2008, 19:51

I have had no trouble running tmw 24 under vista home premium. Have run it with and without open gluide enabled. Noticed no differences really.
User avatar
leeor_net
Novice
Novice
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 10:17
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by leeor_net » 03 Feb 2008, 21:02

No trouble running TMW on Vista Home Premium:

SDL/OpenGL both work fine.

Basic Specs:
nVidia GeForce 8800 GT
3GB RAM
AMD 64X DualCorex2

Hope that helps! :)
User avatar
haggard
Novice
Novice
Posts: 190
Joined: 20 Jan 2006, 04:27
Location: Ohio

Re: TMW on vista?

Post by haggard » 21 Feb 2008, 16:44

just wanted everyone to know that im currently playin TMW on vista without a single problem. didnt have to tinker with anything. course on my sis's computer. her specs:

Windows Vista Ultimate
intel 2..2ghz duo
2gb ram
crappy video card

also plays fine on mine...specs:

Windows Vista ultimate
AMD 64x dual core
6gb ram
ATI radeon x1250
User avatar
Shaili (a.k.a. tds)
Novice
Novice
Posts: 168
Joined: 20 Feb 2008, 11:50
Contact:

Re: TMW on vista?

Post by Shaili (a.k.a. tds) » 25 Feb 2008, 18:47

I have also tried 0.0.24 on Vista Home Edition (32bit) with:

Intel Core Duo T2050
ATI Radeon Mobility X1400 (witn ATI Catalyst drivers)
1 GB RAM

I have no problems, quite high frame rate. If Windows Graphics are set to standard it works faster.
Ingame I am: Shaili, Lv. 9X

Image Proud Italian TMW Player

Image You can find me on Last.fm
User avatar
trapdoor
Novice
Novice
Posts: 216
Joined: 18 Feb 2007, 13:36

Re: TMW on vista?

Post by trapdoor » 02 Sep 2008, 11:03

OpenGL support with some video card drivers is *shocking*. Intel are especially bad, but AMD/ATI arent much better. Nvidia generally have exceedingly good OpenGL support in their drivers though.

--
trapdoor
Matt
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1748
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 11:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Re: TMW on vista?

Post by Matt » 02 Sep 2008, 20:21

trapdoor wrote:OpenGL support with some video card drivers is *shocking*. Intel are especially bad, but AMD/ATI arent much better. Nvidia generally have exceedingly good OpenGL support in their drivers though.

--
trapdoor
Works fine here with Windows Vista 64bit + Intel DG45ID (X4500HD) + latest drivers.
Post Reply