Slave chains

Content and general development discussion, including maps, quests, and server code from the development team.
User avatar
zeeli
Peon
Peon
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:09
Location: Finland

Slave chains

Post by zeeli » 24 Apr 2008, 19:17

Hi.

I made slave/prisoner/fetish chains to be worn. It has a leather strap around the neck, metal braces around wrists and chain wrapped through them.

Image

Constructive criticism is more than welcome, as I am just starting to learn pixeling.


Regards,
zEeLi
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: Slave chains

Post by Crush » 24 Apr 2008, 19:28

I think this is a really interesting idea. But I think the real challenge will be to animate it.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
User avatar
Strump
Novice
Novice
Posts: 169
Joined: 14 Oct 2007, 10:05
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Slave chains

Post by Strump » 24 Apr 2008, 20:00

zeeli wrote:Hi.

I made slave/prisoner/fetish chains to be worn. It has a leather strap around the neck, metal braces around wrists and chain wrapped through them.

Image

Constructive criticism is more than welcome, as I am just starting to learn pixeling.


Regards,
zEeLi
yeah very good idea, XD for banned player's ^^

Image

^^ Fun Fun Fun XXD

and here is big

Image
:D
User avatar
zeeli
Peon
Peon
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:09
Location: Finland

Re: Slave chains

Post by zeeli » 24 Apr 2008, 20:03

Crush wrote:I think this is a really interesting idea. But I think the real challenge will be to animate it.
We'll see how that goes. I definitely give it a shot.

I thought that if there ever will be layer for boots/shoes, I also could make ankle chains.


Regards,
zEeLi
User avatar
Strump
Novice
Novice
Posts: 169
Joined: 14 Oct 2007, 10:05
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Slave chains

Post by Strump » 24 Apr 2008, 20:12

zeeli wrote:
Crush wrote:I think this is a really interesting idea. But I think the real challenge will be to animate it.
We'll see how that goes. I definitely give it a shot.

I thought that if there ever will be layer for boots/shoes, I also could make ankle chains.


Regards,
zEeLi
so ?
Image
:D
User avatar
zeeli
Peon
Peon
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:09
Location: Finland

Re: Slave chains

Post by zeeli » 24 Apr 2008, 20:22

Strump wrote: so ?
Image
It looks good, but I think a giant iron ball would be pretty impractical to walk with(not that chains around your ankles would be comfortable, but still) :?
User avatar
Strump
Novice
Novice
Posts: 169
Joined: 14 Oct 2007, 10:05
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Slave chains

Post by Strump » 24 Apr 2008, 20:30

zeeli wrote:
Strump wrote: so ?
Image
It looks good, but I think a giant iron ball would be pretty impractical to walk with(not that chains around your ankles would be comfortable, but still) :?
thx :P

Okey the comfortable is not good XD.
:D
User avatar
Black Don
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 660
Joined: 06 Feb 2008, 22:30

Re: Slave chains

Post by Black Don » 24 Apr 2008, 20:40

anklets could be considered pants layers too :)
"Too much of a good thing is an awesome thing, but too much of an awesome thing is, um, really really dumb. And bad." Strong Bad
User avatar
Strump
Novice
Novice
Posts: 169
Joined: 14 Oct 2007, 10:05
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Slave chains

Post by Strump » 24 Apr 2008, 20:47

yes ?, wow thx ;).

we see mornig i muss go sleep i have mornig school XD

can eathea see the items ?
:D
User avatar
zeeli
Peon
Peon
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:09
Location: Finland

Re: Slave chains

Post by zeeli » 27 Apr 2008, 14:11

I tried animating with gimp.

Image

Btw, how can I make the other frames invisible in each frame of the animation?


Regards,
zEeLi
User avatar
Black Don
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 660
Joined: 06 Feb 2008, 22:30

Re: Slave chains

Post by Black Don » 27 Apr 2008, 15:19

zeeli wrote:I tried animating with gimp.

Image

Btw, how can I make the other frames invisible in each frame of the animation?


Regards,
zEeLi
I just bucket fill a solid colour around the sprite on each frame to loose the transparency :)

I have a question If we put this on the hat layer would it be able to go over top of the shirts?

Edit: no wait never mind that would not work on a rear view with anyone using long hair but just a thought :)
"Too much of a good thing is an awesome thing, but too much of an awesome thing is, um, really really dumb. And bad." Strong Bad
Nyxl
Peon
Peon
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Dec 2007, 23:47

Re: Slave chains

Post by Nyxl » 27 Apr 2008, 15:33

Btw, how can I make the other frames invisible in each frame of the animation?
Change the frame-transition beneath the animation-interval from "I don't care" to "one frame per layer (replace)" (or something like that)
From what I can see it looks nice, but I think the chains are moving too much when walking.

Greets :)
User avatar
zeeli
Peon
Peon
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:09
Location: Finland

Re: Slave chains

Post by zeeli » 27 Apr 2008, 15:46

Nyxl wrote: Change the frame-transition beneath the animation-interval from "I don't care" to "one frame per layer (replace)" (or something like that)
Black Don wrote: I just bucket fill a solid colour around the sprite on each frame to loose the transparency :)
Thanks for the help, I just put some background color like Don suggested.

Updated:

Image
Nyxl wrote: From what I can see it looks nice, but I think the chains are moving too much when walking.
Yep, It definitely moves too much. Thanks for the input.

Regards,
zEeLi
User avatar
Superkoop
Novice
Novice
Posts: 265
Joined: 11 Feb 2008, 01:09
Location: South Dakota in the US of A
Contact:

Re: Slave chains

Post by Superkoop » 27 Apr 2008, 17:22

I don't think the chains move too much, since they would have to be loose enough to fight with. But if you aren't able to fight with them on, then they are too loose. =\

Anyhow, I think it looks good.
In game I am Xaru
On forums I am Superkoop
IRL I am John
-View World map-
User avatar
zeeli
Peon
Peon
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:09
Location: Finland

Re: Slave chains

Post by zeeli » 27 Apr 2008, 18:03

Superkoop wrote:I don't think the chains move too much, since they would have to be loose enough to fight with. But if you aren't able to fight with them on, then they are too loose. =\

Anyhow, I think it looks good.
Thanks! I thought of what you said and it is quite true. It has to be loose enough to enable fighting.

Now I just have to draw the rest of the chains on 3 different angles.
Post Reply