Any chance of a "3D" version?

Content and general development discussion, including maps, quests, and server code from the development team.
Blorx2
Peon
Peon
Posts: 60
Joined: 13 Mar 2005, 14:10
Location: Florence, SC
Contact:

Any chance of a "3D" version?

Post by Blorx2 » 13 Apr 2005, 01:25

Just asking because you guys have the skill and all you need is a 3D graphics designer. I'm working on 3D development and may be able to help you once I finish learning :D .
-Matt
"A wizard is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he needs to" - Gandalf
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:50
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » 13 Apr 2005, 01:34

About a 3D version I would suggest if there is enough interest one could try to do start project in parallel, sharing as much of the code and data (for example some of the tiles, sounds, music, icons, gui) as possible. The same server could be used as the server won't care wether client is 2D or 3D.

Note that a 1st/3rd person version is out of the question, and other projects are already attempting this, for example PlaneShift. 3D TMW would probably have the same top down kind of look as the 2D version.
Blorx2
Peon
Peon
Posts: 60
Joined: 13 Mar 2005, 14:10
Location: Florence, SC
Contact:

Post by Blorx2 » 13 Apr 2005, 01:39

That's fine. If it's 3D, it's 3D. The point is, is there a chance of one? Anyway, things like Eternal Lands and Runescape have a top down feel (not entirely...) It would be interesting to see what happens with this.
"A wizard is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he needs to" - Gandalf
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:50
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » 13 Apr 2005, 01:54

Is there a chance for a 3D version: Maybe next year a 3D version could be started, unless a few extra talented programmers suddenly show up with a good motivation to get a 3D version done.

What would happen with it: It'd probably look similar to Ragnarok Online, though of course the gameplay would match TMW's unique style (at least when we have developed one, hehe).
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 2526
Joined: 13 Apr 2004, 20:11
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by ElvenProgrammer » 13 Apr 2005, 07:12

Sincerely I prefer the 2D look (that's why I started The Mana Worold in this way, not because I can't do 3D programming), but I'd like to see a 3D version in the future. I won't get invlolved in the 3D development until TMW 2D is completed except from sharing knowledge and help to understand code and protocol. If someone wants to start it no problem, but I'd prefer that new programmers will help us with 2D version first of all.
Blorx2
Peon
Peon
Posts: 60
Joined: 13 Mar 2005, 14:10
Location: Florence, SC
Contact:

Post by Blorx2 » 13 Apr 2005, 12:19

That sounds good. I'm just making a suggestion. I'm probably going to help catfish with the Mac 2D version first.
"A wizard is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he needs to" - Gandalf
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 20:48
Location: Espoo, Finland

Post by Rotonen » 13 Apr 2005, 13:42

I only joined this project because this was a 2D project.. :) So THIS project in particular will not be 3D, but as Bjørn said, this project could fork into one.
User avatar
maci
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 507
Joined: 05 Dec 2004, 21:01
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by maci » 13 Apr 2005, 15:49

once I finish learning
duh...

this is definatly not possible
ElvenProgrammer wrote:Maci: don't be rude, we're here to help people ;)
Blorx2
Peon
Peon
Posts: 60
Joined: 13 Mar 2005, 14:10
Location: Florence, SC
Contact:

Post by Blorx2 » 13 Apr 2005, 20:04

Notice that I put quotes around 3D. It caould be 3D rendered if that's better...it's just a question...
"A wizard is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he needs to" - Gandalf
User avatar
i
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1113
Joined: 07 Mar 2005, 18:29
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by i » 14 Apr 2005, 06:29

I think we should use 3D engine in 2D game, 4 eg. like Stepmania. Because we could use hardware suport for 3D. And it rocks ;]
Retired chainsaw seller. CEO @ Advertising Agency N2P
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 2526
Joined: 13 Apr 2004, 20:11
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by ElvenProgrammer » 14 Apr 2005, 09:06

We're already using hardaware support, if you enable hardware acceleration option in config file or using the opengl version. Using a real 3D engine means we will go near Ragnarok and we don't want that.
User avatar
Ghost
Peon
Peon
Posts: 44
Joined: 25 Apr 2005, 22:06
Location: Hartford, CT (USA)

Post by Ghost » 26 Apr 2005, 01:23

2D is every bit as good as 3D. Stick to 2D.
Whist
Peon
Peon
Posts: 10
Joined: 27 Apr 2005, 00:23

Post by Whist » 27 Apr 2005, 02:01

Elven Programmer wrote:We're already using hardaware support, if you enable hardware acceleration option in config file or using the opengl version. Using a real 3D engine means we will go near Ragnarok and we don't want that.
I'm sorry to say, but this game right now is turning out to be the super nintendo version of ragnarok...
User avatar
Talaroc
Novice
Novice
Posts: 429
Joined: 10 Feb 2005, 05:23
Location: The Frozen North
Contact:

Post by Talaroc » 27 Apr 2005, 02:25

That's because we haven't moved onto our own server and implemented the (very long list of) changes and features we've been discussing yet.
User avatar
Jormungand
Peon
Peon
Posts: 35
Joined: 20 Apr 2005, 23:35
Contact:

Post by Jormungand » 27 Apr 2005, 15:28

I really think you guys should just add new items to the game. What keeps it original is its 2D format Changing it would be bad because most people like to play oldschool games. Instead of concentrating on wether you should go 3D or 2D. I say stick to 2D for now and then worry about 3D when the project is good to go.
Post Reply