Newbie NPC

All development of pixel art and graphics
User avatar
Magick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:35 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Magick » Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:00 pm

Yep, thats what players that have been playing but are just making a new character will do.

Or to make sure the newbs do the tutorial you could make it so they cant leave until they are done with it.... :roll:

~Magick~
User avatar
Kyokai
Novice
Novice
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 3:55 am
Location: USA, North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Kyokai » Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:14 pm

It obviously needs to be optional, the way RO's was. So players can decide if they need it or not.
The Mana World System Coordinator.
View the Systems
So what does the systems coordinator actually do? My job is to take your ideas for TMW and build them into working aspects of gameplay that can be implemented by the artists and programmers. If there's anything you think we can do better or differently, let me know.
User avatar
Magick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:35 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Magick » Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:25 am

If its optionail some newb's might not do it and then you have them going around asking questions that could have been solved...i guess thats why they have us there to help them though right? :P
Bear
Novice
Novice
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:09 pm
Location: Computer
Contact:

re

Post by Bear » Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:33 am

to solve that problem, we can make a Mr.Tip npc for like... 10 GP every tip.
Ofcourse IF we do make 1, itl be in probably every town and major landmark.
User avatar
Magick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:35 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Magick » Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:07 am

That would be a good idea..i like that :P. Nice thinking.
User avatar
Ghost
Peon
Peon
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: Hartford, CT (USA)

Post by Ghost » Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:17 pm

I think that the tutorials should be optional. If nOObs choose the skip it thats fine. If they then decide to make a thread asking for help than delete it. If the have an IQ over 48 they'd probaly try the tutorial afterwards. If not, they'll have to figure out how to play the game on there own.
Bear
Novice
Novice
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:09 pm
Location: Computer
Contact:

re

Post by Bear » Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:50 am

This is what i think, when people start off, they appear in newbie zone, if they skip, there will be mr.Tip... If needed they can go to the game website and look up controlls and so on?
User avatar
Kyokai
Novice
Novice
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 3:55 am
Location: USA, North Carolina
Contact:

Re: re

Post by Kyokai » Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:25 am

Bear wrote:This is what i think, when people start off, they appear in newbie zone, if they skip, there will be mr.Tip... If needed they can go to the game website and look up controlls and so on?
That's good. If they turn down help, it's their own fault. They can't say we didn't try to teach them how to play.
The Mana World System Coordinator.
View the Systems
So what does the systems coordinator actually do? My job is to take your ideas for TMW and build them into working aspects of gameplay that can be implemented by the artists and programmers. If there's anything you think we can do better or differently, let me know.
User avatar
Akyla
Peon
Peon
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:46 pm

Post by Akyla » Tue May 03, 2005 9:41 pm

Here's why people are having a hard time finding the readme.

It's not in .txt format on winblows puters it shows up as not having any file type.
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:50 pm
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » Tue May 03, 2005 9:43 pm

Akyla wrote:Here's why people are having a hard time finding the readme.

It's not in .txt format on winblows puters it shows up as not having any file type.
That's because you sneakily navigated to it using your Explorer. When you'd actually just click the readme menu item in your start menu, it'd launch in notepad just fine I think. Maybe we shouldn't add a desktop shortcut so that people would actually use their start menu and notice the readme item.
User avatar
Akyla
Peon
Peon
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:46 pm

Post by Akyla » Tue May 03, 2005 10:00 pm

Start menu? What's that?

Seriously, I never use that thing.

Or just add a shortcut to the readme/manual whatever on the desktop that way noone can say they didn't see it.
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 2526
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:11 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by ElvenProgrammer » Fri May 06, 2005 7:47 pm

Maybe a link to a readme on desktop would be too generic... :roll:
Post Reply