Aspire One again

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:59 am

well im sorry if im taking no self responsibility but as ive said before i havent used linux before and so i find these things hard to understand and the reason im asking you guys is so they could possibly explain it to me

also, ive gotten used to windows doing everything for me, on linux theres command lines and everything, ok theres a few easy things but for the most part, its complicated, or it seems that way at least, i dont wanna start an argument or anything, i was merely asking

ive looked at the installation documentation and it just tells me to do the yum thing, i dont know how to compile it, or whether that would be the best thing could you maybe refer me to documentaion for that or tell me how to do it with out yelling at me for not understanding it as much as you?
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:11 pm

ok im sorry for arguing T_T i just got a little frustrated with it lol, anyway, im starting to understand a few things now, i should be playing it soon if i can find something lol, im gonna go look on this rpm thing someone told me about, hopefully that brings some good news :/

edit: i searched for it and it brought up 40 results, which one of these should i download and will work (im using linpus lite (fedora based))?

heres the link to the page: http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3 <-- this is a link to the search page, i couldnt actually get a link to the search results :(, anyway, when i was there i typed exactly 'mana world'

please help me with this, i agree, i could have done all the other things myself but this im completely unsure of
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Aspire One again

Post by Crush » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:21 pm

All but the first four can be ruled out because they are old versions of TMW.

Two are for 64 bit processors (x86_64) and two for 32 bit processors (i386). When in doubt use the 32 bit package, because 64 bit systems can execute 32bit code but not the other way around. But when you are sure that you have a 64bit system you can use the 64bit package.

So depending on your processor there are two packages left, one for fedora 11 and one for fedora 10. I suggest trial and error.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:25 pm

how do i find out which version of fedora and which bit system i have? im using linpus lite which is based on fedora
User avatar
blueberry
Novice
Novice
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:26 am
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Aspire One again

Post by blueberry » Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:32 pm

Finally, theres a good solution to playing TheManaWorld on an Acer Aspire One:

Linux4One v1.00 stable has been released --> http://linux4one.it
Features:
* Personalized kernel
* Reduced Boot times (even with SSD)
* Functioning hardware from the start, including SD readers and wireless led
* Minimum disk writing (log. etc.) to preserve duration
* Various optimizations to enhance the system's reaction times
* Netbook Remix Interface
* Italian and English language (other languages will be added as well)
* Based on ubuntu 8.04.2 LTS ( 3 year support) resulting in repository access
* Kernel 2.6.28, Openoffice 3, Netbook manager 0.7 and VLC with codecs
So...get rid of the crappy Linpus Linux and install tmw with the kronos-Scripts :)
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:26 pm

haha, well i would but firstly im just getting used to linpus lite lol and also, im working with a guy on the aspire one forum for a howto on how to install it on linpus lite, were nearing the end now so i should be able to play it soon lol, im doing my own little bit for linux :D lol

edit: also, i looked at the features and there were a few things i didnt like about it lol the fact that some of the hardware features dont work :/ i guess i would cope with the changes but i dont really welcome change so well lol and its my new toy so i dont wanna mess with stuff like that XD
Zorofroozo
Peon
Peon
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Aspire One again

Post by Zorofroozo » Mon Feb 02, 2009 1:25 pm

blueberry wrote:Finally, theres a good solution to playing TheManaWorld on an Acer Aspire One:

Linux4One v1.00 stable has been released --> http://linux4one.it
Features:
* Personalized kernel
* Reduced Boot times (even with SSD)
* Functioning hardware from the start, including SD readers and wireless led
* Minimum disk writing (log. etc.) to preserve duration
* Various optimizations to enhance the system's reaction times
* Netbook Remix Interface
* Italian and English language (other languages will be added as well)
* Based on ubuntu 8.04.2 LTS ( 3 year support) resulting in repository access
* Kernel 2.6.28, Openoffice 3, Netbook manager 0.7 and VLC with codecs
So...get rid of the crappy Linpus Linux and install tmw with the kronos-Scripts :)
there is a much better AAO linux in development, custom kernel, ALL hardware works, and ubuntu 8.10 based :) Named "Kuki Linux"

grtzz
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:20 am

back again lol, sorry if ive annoyed anyone with my questions before :(

i have one question now, how do i compile the things to make the game? ive tried lots of other methods and none seem to work, ive decided i might have to do it some day so why not now

thanks
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Tue May 05, 2009 11:52 pm

right, ive finally got the game working *fanfare* woo

well, mostly..., its version 24.1 now which is better than 23 lol

anyway, does anyone know how i can update my version?, when i was playing someone mentioned git to me but i have no idea what it is or how it works, could someone tell me how this might help please?

thats it for now, thanks ^_^
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Aspire One again

Post by Crush » Wed May 06, 2009 11:58 am

You can download the sourcecode of the latest stable version (0.0.28.1) from http://themanaworld.org/downloads.php

Getting the latest development snapshot from Git is only recommendable when you are adventurous because it might include experimental but buggy features or might even not work at all.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Wed May 06, 2009 1:54 pm

ok then, is there a guide on building from the source code?

im no good with these things lol
User avatar
Terwarf
Peon
Peon
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Aspire One again

Post by Terwarf » Wed May 06, 2009 2:06 pm

Have a look in the file INSTALL in the source package.
There is a list of packages u need to have installed (the -devel versions of the packages)

in the source folder, open a terminal and type `./configure`

if this script returns no missing packets, run `make`
this compiles the client and can take some time.
after its done, type `sudo make install` and give the root password.

then you can start the new client with `/usr/local/bin/tmw`
if you want to create a desktop icon, you find a symbol in /usr/local/share/pixmaps/
chs1010
Peon
Peon
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:40 am
Location: England

Re: Aspire One again

Post by chs1010 » Wed May 06, 2009 3:36 pm

ok, i did this but got a few errors, firstly i couldnt get libcurl :/ lol, and secondly, when i ran ./configure, it didnt work, i have the config log if it would be useful?

if you need it its attached
Attachments
config.log
this is the config log, hope its useful, i dont have a clue what its all about lol, just thought it might be useful
(6.73 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
User avatar
Terwarf
Peon
Peon
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:57 am

Re: Aspire One again

Post by Terwarf » Wed May 06, 2009 3:47 pm

You are missing a Compiler in your system. Search for a package called like build-essentials and install it first.

edit: Attaching the log was right action ;)
Last edited by Terwarf on Wed May 06, 2009 3:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Aspire One again

Post by Jaxad0127 » Wed May 06, 2009 3:48 pm

First off, you'll need to install the compiler (g++).
Image
Post Reply