Segmentation Fault in today's SVN build on Ubuntu

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
Master Ar2ro
Peon
Peon
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2006, 10:59
Location: Poland, Earth
Contact:

Segmentation Fault in today's SVN build on Ubuntu

Post by Master Ar2ro »

Today's SVN seems to be a bit buggy... the last one I compiled (0.0.20.1) hadn't crashed even once, while this one (0.0.21) had done so 3 times already, however I still have problems reproducing each of those crashes. The last one I had was under gdb, so here's the info:

Code: Select all

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread -1219066176 (LWP 11601)]
0x080bc2d5 in Graphics::drawImage (this=0x8100a50, image=0x0, x=0, y=0)
    at graphics.cpp:123
123         return drawImage(image, 0, 0, x, y, image->mBounds.w, image->mBounds.h);
(gdb) bt
#0  0x080bc2d5 in Graphics::drawImage (this=0x8100a50, image=0x0, x=0, y=0)
    at graphics.cpp:123
#1  0x080c2f68 in Map::draw (this=0x81a6990, graphics=0x8100a50, scrollX=1735,
    scrollY=2010, layer=1) at map.cpp:142
#2  0x080b82e0 in Engine::draw (this=0x819fc08, graphics=0x8100a50)
    at engine.cpp:227
#3  0x080bbe6c in Game::logic (this=0x8126128) at game.cpp:368
#4  0x080c18ae in main (argc=0, argv=0xbfe22b94) at main.cpp:656
I was doing nothing else but moving this time. The last time it crashed I was trying to set up the FPS limit. I was trying to reproduce that bug when this crash happened. I'll test those things a bit more later today.
Just for the info, I'm running the LATEST SVN (checkedout today, 22 August 2006 at around 15:30 CET), compiled on gcc 4.0.3 and Ubuntu 6.06. I'm running a self-compiled version of guichan as well.

Here's a screenshot (after gdb caught the crash):
Image

//EDIT: Just checked it again. This bug is repeating every time I walk a while under that palm. Doing nothing else right after login, I go under that palm and walk around it a few times in misc directions, and it crashes.

Code: Select all

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread -1218603328 (LWP 12468)]
0x080bc2d5 in Graphics::drawImage (this=0x8100a50, image=0x0, x=0, y=0)
    at graphics.cpp:123
123         return drawImage(image, 0, 0, x, y, image->mBounds.w, image->mBounds.h);
(gdb) bt
#0  0x080bc2d5 in Graphics::drawImage (this=0x8100a50, image=0x0, x=0, y=0)
    at graphics.cpp:123
#1  0x080c2f68 in Map::draw (this=0x81a67c0, graphics=0x8100a50, scrollX=1670,
    scrollY=1897, layer=1) at map.cpp:142
#2  0x080b82e0 in Engine::draw (this=0x819fa38, graphics=0x8100a50)
    at engine.cpp:227
#3  0x080bbe6c in Game::logic (this=0x818a210) at game.cpp:368
#4  0x080c18ae in main (argc=0, argv=0xbfc92214) at main.cpp:656
C/C++,Java,PHP+MySQL - read more
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 16:08
Location: Germany

Post by Crush »

obviously there is a graphic missing. what does the tmw.log say?
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Master Ar2ro
Peon
Peon
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2006, 10:59
Location: Poland, Earth
Contact:

Post by Master Ar2ro »

Code: Select all

[16:27:43] ResourceManager::get(graphics/items/*all items*)
[16:27:43] Warning: graphics/items/*all items* not found!
[16:27:43] Warning: resource doesn't exist!
[...]
[16:27:46] ResourceManager::get(graphics/items/generic-maggotslime.png)
[16:27:46] Warning: graphics/items/generic-maggotslime.png not found!
[16:27:46] Warning: resource doesn't exist!
Seems that `make install` doesn't copy those images to the tmw data folder. I copied them manually, but it seems there's something still missing, the log now has a lot of messages like:

Code: Select all

[16:34:07] Item Manager: Missing slot parameter for item: 501. Cactus drink
and no items have their names or descriptions in the inventory. From the log it seems that all the items are missing.
C/C++,Java,PHP+MySQL - read more
Master Ar2ro
Peon
Peon
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2006, 10:59
Location: Poland, Earth
Contact:

Post by Master Ar2ro »

Crashed again. I was fighting a maggot. This time all the graphics are in place, and the log doesn't say anything about missing images. Just the missing slot parameters as above. The log ends like:

Code: Select all

[16:42:14] Warning: no action "2" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "2" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "2" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] ResourceManager::get(sfx/fist-swish.ogg)
[16:42:14] Sound::playSfx() Playing: sfx/fist-swish.ogg
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "2" defined!
[16:42:14] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:14] Sound::playSfx() Playing: sfx/fist-swish.ogg
[16:42:15] Warning: no action "2" defined!
[16:42:15] Unhandled packet: 7c
[16:42:15] Warning: no action "1" defined!
[16:42:15] Sound::playSfx() Playing: sfx/fist-swish.ogg
[16:42:15] Unhandled packet: 88
[16:42:16] Warning: no action "1" defined!
And here's the gdb output (the same as above)

Code: Select all

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread -1218705728 (LWP 14499)]
0x080bc2d5 in Graphics::drawImage (this=0x8100a50, image=0x0, x=0, y=0)
    at graphics.cpp:123
123         return drawImage(image, 0, 0, x, y, image->mBounds.w, image->mBounds.h);
(gdb) bt
#0  0x080bc2d5 in Graphics::drawImage (this=0x8100a50, image=0x0, x=0, y=0)
    at graphics.cpp:123
#1  0x080c2f68 in Map::draw (this=0x81a5c20, graphics=0x8100a50, scrollX=2336,
    scrollY=2210, layer=1) at map.cpp:142
#2  0x080b82e0 in Engine::draw (this=0x819ee98, graphics=0x8100a50)
    at engine.cpp:227
#3  0x080bbe6c in Game::logic (this=0x8129120) at game.cpp:368
#4  0x080c18ae in main (argc=0, argv=0xbfa7b224) at main.cpp:656
C/C++,Java,PHP+MySQL - read more
Matt
Grand Knight
Grand Knight
Posts: 1759
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 10:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Post by Matt »

http://cia.navi.cx/stats/project/theman ... sage/8eb59
Updated makefiles to account for new ambient images and changed the version
from 0.0.20.1 to 0.0.21.
May it works now ;)
Master Ar2ro
Peon
Peon
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2006, 10:59
Location: Poland, Earth
Contact:

Post by Master Ar2ro »

I have bad news for you Matt. That changelog message was already present when I checked out the SVN, and the ambient images were copied correctly. It's the item images that were missing. My /usr/share/tmw/data/graphics didn't contain items folder at all. Though I still don't know why the missing slot parameter thingy appears in the log.
C/C++,Java,PHP+MySQL - read more
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 16:08
Location: Germany

Post by Crush »

the slot parameter is unnecessary.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Master Ar2ro
Peon
Peon
Posts: 37
Joined: 21 Jan 2006, 10:59
Location: Poland, Earth
Contact:

Post by Master Ar2ro »

Then what might be the reason for not showing any item names or descriptions in-game? The only item I found that actually had the name and description shown is Santa's hat, the rest doesn't have anything written, just the image.
C/C++,Java,PHP+MySQL - read more
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 16:08
Location: Germany

Post by Crush »

Thats something i would like to know, too. i thought i caused it when i changed the way item images are loaded, but obviously i haven't. i reloaded the revision before my changes and the bug was already present. someone seems to have caused it in the last weeks without noticing. i already wanted to do a big search for the last revision where it worked but unfortunately i didn't found time to do it immediately and then forgot about it.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Matt
Grand Knight
Grand Knight
Posts: 1759
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 10:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Post by Matt »

Well it works here oO
Post Reply