What changes during a 'state change'?

Content and general development discussion, including quest scripts and server code. TMW Classic is a project comprising the Legacy tmwAthena server & the designated improved engine server based on evolHercules.


Forum rules

This forum houses many years of development, tracing back to some of the earliest posts that exist on the board.

Its current use is for the continued development of the server and game it has always served: TMW Classic.

Post Reply
User avatar
bigglesworth
Novice
Novice
Posts: 211
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 03:23
Location: Land of Ooo

What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by bigglesworth »

What is a 'state change' and what is happening between states?

I'm using linux and the October 7 or 8, 2009 git client.

Code: Select all

milkchan@pc2-jaunty64:~$ ./tmw/bin/tmw
State change: 0 to 1
State change: 1 to 2
State change: 2 to 3
State change: 3 to 4
State change: 4 to -1
State change: -1 to 1
State change: 1 to 2
State change: 2 to 3
State change: 3 to 4
State change: 4 to -1
State change: -1 to 1
State change: 1 to 2
State change: 2 to 3
State change: 3 to 4
State change: 4 to 5
State change: 5 to 7
State change: 7 to 8
State change: 8 to 9
State change: 9 to 10
State change: 10 to 11
State change: 11 to 12
milkchan@pc2-jaunty64:~$
User avatar
bigglesworth
Novice
Novice
Posts: 211
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 03:23
Location: Land of Ooo

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by bigglesworth »

Image

I'm only a humble player. Under which sub-forum topic do you suggest is best?
User avatar
Ces
Novice
Novice
Posts: 231
Joined: 19 Mar 2008, 22:46
Location: The hemisphere

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by Ces »

Well, Jaxad left in a debug message as usual. :P

Code: Select all

printf("State change: %d to %d\n", oldstate, state);
(http://gitorious.org/tmw/mainline/commi ... 0b899ba414)

Nothing you have to worry about, but if you are curious; what the numbers mean:
http://gitorious.org/tmw/mainline/blobs ... n.h#line86
User avatar
bigglesworth
Novice
Novice
Posts: 211
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 03:23
Location: Land of Ooo

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by bigglesworth »

The output was something new to me and all I needed was a clear point in the right direction.

Thank you, Ces.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by Jaxad0127 »

It's rather annoying to have to remember to comment that out before committing and uncomment it before developing again. ;)
Image
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 16:08
Location: Germany

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by Crush »

Just make it a proper log message and you can leave it in ;)
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
Manasource
Manasource
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 17:35
Location: Internet

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by Jaxad0127 »

Crush wrote:Just make it a proper log message and you can leave it in ;)
Rather annoying to have to reload and check the log every second to make sure states are changing appropriately. ;)

Maybe a debug flag that controls such console output....
Image
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
Founder
Founder
Posts: 2526
Joined: 13 Apr 2004, 19:11
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: What changes during a 'state change'?

Post by ElvenProgrammer »

jaxad0127 wrote:Maybe a debug flag that controls such console output....
Indeed
Post Reply