Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
reddraggone9
Newly Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:47 pm

Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by reddraggone9 » Sun May 23, 2010 12:08 am

Tried for the first time to log into TMW on this computer and I get this error after the client attempts to connect to the account server. It's been several months since I created my account, so just to be sure I tried to register. Same deal. The server is up at this time and I have version 0.0.29.1 of the client installed on Windows 7. Suggestions would be welcomed.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by Jaxad0127 » Sun May 23, 2010 1:35 am

You can't register in game. You need to do it here: http://www.themanaworld.org/registration.php.
Image
reddraggone9
Newly Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:47 pm

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by reddraggone9 » Sun May 23, 2010 2:09 am

Attempted to create a new account. Apparently, my old one still exists, in which case I come back to the connection problem. Thanks though.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by Jaxad0127 » Sun May 23, 2010 4:28 am

Make sure your firewall or ISP isn't blocking the ports. The ports needed: 6901, 6122, 5122.
Image
reddraggone9
Newly Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:47 pm

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by reddraggone9 » Mon May 24, 2010 6:36 am

As far as I can tell, my firewall isn't causing any problems. Not sure on how to check whether my ISP is though... Can I get a hand here :?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by Jaxad0127 » Mon May 24, 2010 7:21 am

Can you connect to other servers? There is a listing of them here: http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/Servers.
Image
reddraggone9
Newly Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:47 pm

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by reddraggone9 » Mon May 24, 2010 8:08 am

No luck. All result in "Connecting to account server..." *progress bar animation*x4 and then the error message.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by Jaxad0127 » Mon May 24, 2010 4:57 pm

So, something is broken on your end. Do ask your ISP about it.
Image
reddraggone9
Newly Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:47 pm

Re: Error: Couldn't connect to remote host

Post by reddraggone9 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:01 am

My goodness it's been a long time since I started this thread :oops:
I shot off an e-mail to my ISP right after your last post asking whether or not they were blocking the necessary ports. I never did get an answer back. Since then I have swapped ISPs, and now the game is running fine, so that appears to have been the problem. Thanks for your help and my apologies for the extremely late response.
Post Reply