data graphics/sprites/mobs

All development of pixel art and graphics
Post Reply
shannonbrimer
Novice
Novice
Posts: 127
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 12:30
Contact:

data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by shannonbrimer » 23 Dec 2010, 08:30

um yea i was runing threw the link crush gave me on update and was wondering what all must be done to add new mobs like the reaper and bandit and bandit lord such as the png and xml files like i have their names in my eathena data but no files on them or at least i cant find any xml or png mob files in my eathena-data folder
Emotional Warrior
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by Crush » 23 Dec 2010, 10:32

The last time I did this is quite a while ago, but as far as I remember the checklist for adding a new monster is the following:

Gameserver:
1. Add a new entry to mob_db.txt with appropriate stats and a new monster ID
2. Add spawn areas for the monsters

Client:
1. add the graphics to data/graphics
2. add an XML referencing the graphic to data/graphics
3. add a new entry to data/monsters.xml referencing the XML file. If I recall correctly there was a fixed offset between the monster IDs in the server and the monster IDs on the client.

Updateserver:
1. Ask the guys who know what they are doing to create and release the update ;)
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
shannonbrimer
Novice
Novice
Posts: 127
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 12:30
Contact:

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by shannonbrimer » 23 Dec 2010, 11:15

where do i find the client all im finding is servers in my eathena folder
Emotional Warrior
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by Crush » 23 Dec 2010, 11:52

Sorry, I was referring to the client data you distribute via updates or customdata zips.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
shannonbrimer
Novice
Novice
Posts: 127
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 12:30
Contact:

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by shannonbrimer » 23 Dec 2010, 13:39

ok im in updates folder where do i go now
Emotional Warrior
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by Crush » 23 Dec 2010, 14:20

Solve your problem with the client data on http://forums.themanaworld.org/viewtopi ... 8&start=15 first, and the answer to this question will become obvious.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
nmaligec
Novice
Novice
Posts: 253
Joined: 08 Apr 2010, 02:55

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by nmaligec » 23 Dec 2010, 15:43

For the client data, I download it from a test git repo.
You can use the main repo at: http://gitorious.org/tmwdata. Use similar process as you did to download the server files.

I edit client data locally and push it back to the test repo for later inclusion into the main data repo. To test the client data locally I add:
-u -d "path to client data"
at the end of my client shortcut. I assume this forces the client to use the data on my hard drive instead of connecting to a hosted update server.
shannonbrimer
Novice
Novice
Posts: 127
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 12:30
Contact:

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by shannonbrimer » 23 Dec 2010, 17:51

theres somthing wrong with gitorious website it keeps sending me here https://www.dnsmadeeasy.com/servlet/login
Emotional Warrior
nmaligec
Novice
Novice
Posts: 253
Joined: 08 Apr 2010, 02:55

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by nmaligec » 23 Dec 2010, 17:52

thats a temporary problem with gitorious, they should have it fixed soon.
shannonbrimer
Novice
Novice
Posts: 127
Joined: 24 Jan 2009, 12:30
Contact:

Re: data graphics/sprites/mobs

Post by shannonbrimer » 24 Dec 2010, 06:12

o ok
Emotional Warrior
Post Reply