Shutting down Allegro due to signal #11

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Locked
MathGeek
Peon
Peon
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: Calgary AB. Canada

Shutting down Allegro due to signal #11

Post by MathGeek » Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:45 am

The other day Mana World crashed on me. Ever since I get this error message when I try to run it.

Linux Version
Shutting down Allegro due to signal #11
Segmentation fault

I haven't been able to find the cause of it. The login works, and the window showing my character in the world is shown briefly before the crash. The chat log file does record a welcome message, but beyond that I've got nothing.

I'm unable to play now, and can't remember the cause of the original crash.

I'm running a Linux, Debian ( Sarge ), system.

Any Ideas.
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 8:48 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Post by Rotonen » Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:28 am

Which version of Allegro are you using..? As far as I know of we're using 4.1 for the game..
MathGeek
Peon
Peon
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: Calgary AB. Canada

Post by MathGeek » Wed Nov 17, 2004 4:51 am

I'm running Allegro 4.1 off the debian package. I was able to play before, and was having a great time, and then it crashed. Ever since I can't get past the first glimpse of my character in Mana World before it crashes.
User avatar
Sull
Novice
Novice
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Quebec,Montreal

.

Post by Sull » Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:14 am

try to delete the whole tmw directory and
remove ~/.manaworld/ (rm -r ~/.manaworld/)

reget it from the cvs and it should work
MathGeek
Peon
Peon
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: Calgary AB. Canada

Post by MathGeek » Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:00 am

Couldn't get it working, so I deleted that character and started a new one. However if that happened after playing for months it could be an issue.

I'm guessing that something on my side, and the server didn't mesh. Maybe someone who knows the project could look into it. Is there a error log anywhere that could be used to debug crashes?
MathGeek
Peon
Peon
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: Calgary AB. Canada

Post by MathGeek » Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:21 am

Spoke to soon. It was working, but now I've got the same error.
MathGeek
Peon
Peon
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:07 pm
Location: Calgary AB. Canada

Post by MathGeek » Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:39 am

I have to remove the "tmw" directory, grab it off the CVS, re-compile, and removing my character seems to help. But it's running again, and I'm trying to tweak some code.
Locked