[SOLVED] unable to load sansserif8.png / no video memory

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Locked
blaen
Peon
Peon
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jan 2007, 21:56

[SOLVED] unable to load sansserif8.png / no video memory

Post by blaen » 05 Jan 2007, 22:05

i hope this is not a repost..
this is what i found in tmw.log:

[20:52:28.26] Initializing SDL...
[20:52:28.30] Initializing resource manager...
[20:52:28.30] Adding to PhysicsFS: /root//.tmw
[20:52:28.30] Adding to PhysicsFS: data
[20:52:28.30] Adding to PhysicsFS: /usr/local/share/tmw/data
[20:52:28.30] Initializing configuration...
[20:52:28.31] Setting video mode 800x600 windowed
[20:52:28.36] Using video driver: x11
[20:52:28.36] Possible to create hardware surfaces: no
[20:52:28.36] Window manager available: yes
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated hardware to hardware blits: no
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated hardware to hardware colorkey blits: no
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated hardware to hardware alpha blits: no
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated software to hardware blits: no
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated software to hardware colorkey blits: no
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated software to hardware alpha blits: no
[20:52:28.36] Accelerated color fills: no
[20:52:28.36] Available video memory: 0
[20:52:28.36] Initializing GUI...
[20:52:28.36] Loaded /usr/local/share/tmw/data/graphics/gui/sansserif8.png
[20:52:28.40] Error: Unable to load sansserif8.png!

i just downloaded the latest version of the game, of guichan, of physfs and curl. i tryed it both: with opengl and w/o, installing it again, as it was written. the problem could be in the line i bolded: 0 video memory : :? any ideas how could it happen??? thanks
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 20:48
Location: Espoo, Finland

Post by Rotonen » 06 Jan 2007, 07:13

My bet: you have a too new physfs (or you misplaced that file or the program doesn't have read access to it).

And it gives that video memory thingy on every machine I've seen. Devs what is it even about?
This message used to be meaningful.
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:50
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » 08 Jan 2007, 17:33

It's the amount of available video memory as reported by SDL, however in OpenGL mode or in software mode with most video drivers (including the common X11 on Linux and GDI on Windows), it can't tell this and always returns 0. We should probably make it only log it when it's not 0, to avoid confusion.
blaen
Peon
Peon
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jan 2007, 21:56

Post by blaen » 09 Jan 2007, 00:04

Ok than, so thats not the trouble. By the way, installing an older version of physfs was the thing to do, its working perfectly now... thanks, and, well... strange anyway...
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:50
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » 12 Jan 2007, 19:17

Ah yeah, PhysFS 1.1.0 is known to cause problems, that's why we've mentioned basically everywhere that 1.0.1 is the version to use. ;-)
Locked