[RESOLVED] tmwserv Map Warp Points

Content and general development discussion, including maps, quests, and server code from the development team.
User avatar
leeor_net
Novice
Novice
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 10:17
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

[RESOLVED] tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by leeor_net » 09 Feb 2008, 06:09

Does tmwserv support switching between maps yet or is this something yet to be completed? How do I make it work? If it's not supported yet, how is it planned to work so I can at least get my maps ready for the change? :)

Thanks!
Last edited by leeor_net on 18 Feb 2008, 03:56, edited 1 time in total.
- Leeor

"Oh, no thanks. I ate a boulder on the way in." - Shrek
Matt
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1748
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 11:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Post by Matt » 09 Feb 2008, 11:55

Should work. At least it works with the maps from trunk/tmw ;)
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Post by Crush » 09 Feb 2008, 13:32

You have to add them by editing the map file with a text editor because Tiled doesn't allow to edit objects yet. It's an XML file. You add an objectgroup tag and then add warp objects like this:
http://rafb.net/p/slhKKA34.html

Check the map new_1-1.tmx from the trunk client repository for examples.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
User avatar
leeor_net
Novice
Novice
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 10:17
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by leeor_net » 10 Feb 2008, 00:17

Awesome! Thank you so much for your replies! :D
- Leeor

"Oh, no thanks. I ate a boulder on the way in." - Shrek
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:50
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » 11 Feb 2008, 18:23

Or use the development version of Tiled, which does support objects thanks to ElvenProgrammer. It's just a little rough around some edges, which is why it hasn't got a new release yet.
User avatar
leeor_net
Novice
Novice
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 10:17
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by leeor_net » 11 Feb 2008, 23:02

I think I'll try that. I don't mind programs that are a little rough around the edges, especially since they're development versions. Besides, this constant shuffling of files and copy/pasting object code is getting real old real fast... -_-

Anyway, thanks for the tip!
- Leeor

"Oh, no thanks. I ate a boulder on the way in." - Shrek
zick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 194
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 04:30
Location: City Of Champions Again

Post by zick » 12 Feb 2008, 17:18

how fast does the client switch from one map to another? just curious? would it ever be able to instantly switch? I had an idea for a map effect for a specific area that would be nice to have an instant switch ...
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Post by Crush » 12 Feb 2008, 17:43

The client needs some time to load the next map file and its tilesets when there are any new ones. This usually takes less than a second.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
zick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 194
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 04:30
Location: City Of Champions Again

Post by zick » 12 Feb 2008, 18:18

could there be an addition to the server to tell the client to preload a new tileset and map whenever you're a tile away from a waypoint? i guess this belongs in feature requests ...
User avatar
leeor_net
Novice
Novice
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 10:17
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by leeor_net » 16 Feb 2008, 17:53

Precaching tilesets and map data would [probably] ultimatly not be that beneficial. The load times is trivial on modern systems and the technical requirements for the game are not very high so older machines should see no really noticable lag from loading.

I would suggest, however, a better transition between maps, e.g., quick fade-out, fade-in. I don't know if this is planned, has been tested and rejected or whatnot so I just thought I'd throw it in there... :)
- Leeor

"Oh, no thanks. I ate a boulder on the way in." - Shrek
zick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 194
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 04:30
Location: City Of Champions Again

Re: tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by zick » 17 Feb 2008, 01:43

I had an idea for a maze type map that would be awesome to have a new map display instantly when you step on a warp tile ... that's why I made the suggestion for preloading the next map, that way you just appear instantly on the next map. But the effect would be lame if there was lag or loading time IMHO.
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by Crush » 17 Feb 2008, 19:21

Note that warping around on the same map does not require any loading time.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
zick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 194
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 04:30
Location: City Of Champions Again

Re: tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by zick » 17 Feb 2008, 23:26

It would be different maps (hence the maze effect), but would look like the same map. Here's an example, pardon the crudity (stars are walls, dashes are the viewable area, X is a connected waypoint between maps):

Code: Select all

MAP A                                           MAP B
=====                                           =====
****************                                           *****************
               *                                           *
************   *                                           *   *************
           *   *                                           *   *
-----------*---*-                               -----------*---*-
|     ******   *|                               |     ******   *|
|     * X      *|                               |     * X      *|
|     ******   *|                               |     ******   *|
-----------*---*-                               -----------*---*-
           *   *                                           *   *
           *   ***********                                 *   *
           *                                               *   *
           ***************                                 *   *
So what you see when you warp will be the exact same thing, but once you move outside the original viewport, it's completely different ...
This is just one example of how to use this, I have a couple others, but I would like to keep those on the down low for now. The tile before the X would issue a command (all client side, no need to involve the server) that would preload the next map, that way its an instant switch.
User avatar
Modanung
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1719
Joined: 20 May 2005, 16:51
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by Modanung » 21 Feb 2008, 21:18

Like Crush said you don't need to preload anything if you don't switch maps. This by warping from one location on the map to another. And these A and B can be on the same map, eventhough they are only connected through a warp.
If you're looking for 3D FOSS games be sure to check out LucKey Productions on itch.io
zick
Novice
Novice
Posts: 194
Joined: 21 Feb 2007, 04:30
Location: City Of Champions Again

Re: [RESOLVED] tmwserv Map Warp Points

Post by zick » 22 Feb 2008, 21:41

I could do that I guess ... I was kinda hoping that MAP A and MAP B would be bigger (like the max. size) hence needing separate maps but like the Rolling Stones say, "You can't always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you get what you need."
Post Reply