Fake money bug

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
JonathanW2
Peon
Peon
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Oct 2008, 04:03

Fake money bug

Post by JonathanW2 » 21 Oct 2008, 04:13

It is possible to change the value of your money with a program such as Cheat Engine. This money is not real but it looks real in trades so you can rip people off. I don't think anybody has been duped off yet but it is a potential problem.
User avatar
Rein
Developer
Developer
Posts: 38
Joined: 17 Sep 2016, 18:02

Re: Fake money bug

Post by Rein » 17 Sep 2016, 19:02

olol oldest post i could find,hy meko ... and i rememebr this style hackery way back in tmw history. i used to love trying to make it work haha
User avatar
gumi
Developer
Developer
Posts: 638
Joined: 19 May 2014, 19:18

Re: Fake money bug

Post by gumi » 17 Sep 2016, 19:09

it wouldn't actually work as it only changes the data in memory client-side but the real data is server-side
User avatar
Rein
Developer
Developer
Posts: 38
Joined: 17 Sep 2016, 18:02

Re: Fake money bug

Post by Rein » 17 Sep 2016, 19:27

yeah useless but fun to play with . then you find packet crafting and things get funny lol
User avatar
gumi
Developer
Developer
Posts: 638
Joined: 19 May 2014, 19:18

Re: Fake money bug

Post by gumi » 17 Sep 2016, 19:30

even if you modify your packets you can't feed garbage to the server or it rejects the packets, and you can't send it false data because the server always double-check

---
I guess one more post and you're ready to infringe the rules
Post Reply