TMW and OpenGL support

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Locked
User avatar
Javila
Peon
Peon
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 2:32 am
Location: Brazil

TMW and OpenGL support

Post by Javila » Fri May 06, 2005 2:38 am

Hi all,

Can anybody help me??? I'd a strange "bug" when running TMW with OpenGL support. As you can see in screenshot belows, the progress bars (HP, SP, Exp and Job Exp) aren't drawn. With SDL support, the bars worked fine, but frame rate falls down to just 7 fps. :(

Image

Is this really a bug???

BTW, I'm running TMW 0.0.12 in a Slackware Linux 10.0 box (AMD Duron 800 MHz, 640 MB RAM, nVidia TNT2 32 MB), with a 2.6.7 kernel.

Any suggestion???

Best regards,


J. Avila
User avatar
gene
Peon
Peon
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:35 pm

Post by gene » Fri May 06, 2005 4:23 am

[19:44] <gh5046> Pajarico: That isn't a bug, it just hasn't been setup for opengl mode yet.
[19:45] <Pajarico> ok
[19:45] <Pajarico> will be alpha layer someday?
[19:45] <nym> well, TMW uses alpha blending already :)
User avatar
Javila
Peon
Peon
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 2:32 am
Location: Brazil

Post by Javila » Fri May 06, 2005 5:10 am

Thanks a lot, gene!!!
User avatar
gene
Peon
Peon
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:35 pm

Post by gene » Fri May 06, 2005 7:11 am

If you want to properly thank me you can bake me a pie.

Kidding.

You're welcome :P
User avatar
Javila
Peon
Peon
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 2:32 am
Location: Brazil

Post by Javila » Sun May 15, 2005 2:41 pm

Hi all,

I'd build the CVS-version of tmw today, and OpenGL problem was fixed. Also, I can finally see my char sitted down correctly. All works great!!!

At least, but no less important, the updated map is very fine.

Congratulations to TMW Team!!!

@gene: When you are here, I bought a pizza to you... :wink:

Cya,


Javila
User avatar
Bjørn
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 1430
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:50 pm
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Contact:

Post by Bjørn » Mon May 16, 2005 12:34 pm

Indeed, in the development version all OpenGL issues should be resolved now, so with 0.0.13 is should work nice as well.

There has also been added a framerate limit option to config.xml so that those with 200-300 fps can limit it to 50 or 100 to have CPU usage reduced. Especially laptop users have been requesting this.

Anyway, issue resolved, topic closed. :-P
Locked