Apparently broken javac

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 8:48 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Apparently broken javac

Post by Rotonen » Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:06 am

My javac gets stuck on OS X. Apparently goes into an infinite loop when run in any case.

Apple developer forums or the Sun support group have not provided any answers or intelligent guesses about what could be broken.

How is this related to TMW? Autotools need gettext and the ./configure of gettext gets stuck at checking for javac.

Cannot compile source releases (would be interested in debugging git) at the moment and cannot be arsed to learn xcode properly (clear wiki article for dummies, anyone?).

Yes, this is a longshot.
This message used to be meaningful.
allenmoatallen
Peon
Peon
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:39 pm

Re: Apparently broken javac

Post by allenmoatallen » Sun Mar 29, 2009 9:55 am

It depends on the version of MacOS you have and the version of Java that you need.

MacOS X 10.4.x uses Java 1.5

MacOS X 10.5.x uses Java 1.5 also but can get 1.6 through an update, although its not made to be used by default.
User avatar
trapdoor
Novice
Novice
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Apparently broken javac

Post by trapdoor » Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:28 am

Have you tried http://www.macports.org/ ?

They should have a working version of gettext.

--
trapdoor
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 8:48 pm
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: Apparently broken javac

Post by Rotonen » Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:15 pm

The gettext is not the issue I need to solve, I also need a functional javac for stuff. Getting libraries is trivial. Fixing the compiling environment is not.

OS X 10.5 and the latest updates installed (this of course also covers Java). Every instance of javac on my machine just eats 100% cpu and sits there.

I guess I'll just use compile farms until Snow Leopard comes along and do a fresh reinstall then.
This message used to be meaningful.
Post Reply