UI is buggy.

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
BugReport
Peon
Peon
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 20:59

UI is buggy.

Post by BugReport » 04 Apr 2009, 21:03

Reinstalled, used "compatibility mode", nothing.
Attachments
screen.jpg
screen.jpg (139.35 KiB) Viewed 2218 times
Matt
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1748
Joined: 07 Aug 2004, 11:47
Location: Germany->Bavaria

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Matt » 04 Apr 2009, 21:10

Your Vista OpenGL driver sucks.
Fix it, get a better graphics card, use XP/Linux/FreeDos or try to disable opengl in your tmw.xml file.
BugReport
Peon
Peon
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 20:59

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by BugReport » 04 Apr 2009, 21:20

I have an integrated ATI Radeon HD 3200 (office pc) and you want to tell me, that 2d sprite game needs a better video card? Are you freakin` kidding me?!?!

Btw, where tmw.xml is located?
User avatar
EJlol
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1084
Joined: 06 Sep 2005, 09:42

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by EJlol » 04 Apr 2009, 21:35

It's called configuration.xml, and it can be found somewhere on your pc (on XP its C:\documents and settings\username\.tmw\configuration.xml, on Vista I have no Idea actually).
More info how to edit the configuration.xml can be found here (it doesn't say where it is located on Vista, feel free to add it if you have found it):
http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/Config_settings
BugReport
Peon
Peon
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 20:59

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by BugReport » 04 Apr 2009, 21:40

Yes, thank you very much! It worked!
User avatar
kook
Peon
Peon
Posts: 93
Joined: 11 Mar 2009, 06:30

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by kook » 04 Apr 2009, 22:10

wow, art.
Image
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Armadeus » 05 Apr 2009, 13:25

Not really a bug, you just needed to fix some settings, etc.
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 20:48
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Rotonen » 05 Apr 2009, 17:22

It is a bug. The bug is in the OpenGL graphics drivers in question, not TMW.
This message used to be meaningful.
Armadeus
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 558
Joined: 14 Mar 2009, 16:16
Location: Canada

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Armadeus » 05 Apr 2009, 18:55

Doesn't seem like a bug. :\
User avatar
leeor_net
Novice
Novice
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 10:17
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by leeor_net » 13 Apr 2009, 14:19

BugReport wrote:I have an integrated ATI Radeon HD 3200 (office pc) and you want to tell me, that 2d sprite game needs a better video card? Are you freakin` kidding me?!?!

Btw, where tmw.xml is located?
Hate to break it to you but OpenGL drivers for almost all integrated GPU's are fucked (although nVidia's tend to be pretty good). E.g., it's not TMW's fault, it's your graphics driver. You can tell ATI that their drivers are feces and to get off their asses and fix it.

If you want to run it in OpenGL mode, you'll need to install new drivers (perhaps ATI actually fixed their Vista implementation? Doubt it) or get an nVidia card. Otherwise, open up your config file and set it software mode.
- Leeor

"Oh, no thanks. I ate a boulder on the way in." - Shrek
Alxe
Peon
Peon
Posts: 83
Joined: 22 Jan 2009, 17:04

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Alxe » 13 Apr 2009, 15:53

nVidia for the win. ATI doesn't even release a good catalyst driver with fixes soon, and you get pretty ****ed when software releases new features your graphics card doesn't support.
Arch64 - We power it
Nickname: Alxe
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 20:48
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Rotonen » 13 Apr 2009, 16:44

Well, as of late AMD has been quite good with their regular and reasonable release schedule in comparison to NVIDIA struggling with it's frequent release schedule of alpha or beta level drivers as "WHQL certified" drivers. The tables are once again slowly turning.

Mostly the problem lies in the drivers shipped with OEM or Microsoft Update: they go by the minimum nominator, as in if Aero works, it's fine and no newer drivers get automatically pushed through. OpenGL support is not a priority or a selling point in a Direct X dominated world.
This message used to be meaningful.
Fubar
Peon
Peon
Posts: 35
Joined: 17 Mar 2009, 11:08
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Fubar » 13 Apr 2009, 18:00

OpenGL works w/o bugs on my laptop with a Trident CybrBlade from 2003 with 16Mb memory :lol:
User avatar
Tenche
Novice
Novice
Posts: 421
Joined: 14 Jun 2005, 21:21
Location: Reston
Contact:

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Tenche » 14 Apr 2009, 14:57

I'm using XP and I'm getting bugs like this using OpenGL also
I too have an ATI card. It looks fine once I turn OpenGL off.

The login screen has UI issues too

Image

SORRY ABOUT THE BACKGROUND :P
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 20:48
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: UI is buggy.

Post by Rotonen » 14 Apr 2009, 20:17

ALT + PrintScreen produces a screenshot of only the active window.
This message used to be meaningful.
Post Reply