Can’t run client after built.

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
leofilipe
Peon
Peon
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Brazil

Can’t run client after built.

Post by leofilipe » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:13 am

Hi, I’m trying to compile the mana world 0.0.29.1 in windows xp using codeblocks 8.02. I built the project but when I try to run it, the game window appears and closes in an instant. I got no error message, the only message being “Process terminated with status 3”. So I tried debug it and got the following message.


Error while reading shared library symbols:
Error while reading shared library symbols:
.
. //same thing several times
.
Error while reading shared library symbols:
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.

And the track of the segmentation

#0 005218B9 Slider::init() (??:??)
#1 00521DC3 Slider::Slider() (??:??)
#2 004C46F5 Setup_Video::Setup_Video() (??:??)
#3 004A5B09 Setup::Setup() (??:??)
#4 00546BC0 SDL_main() (??:??)
#5 005BF4DB console_main(argc=4, argv=0x23fd50) (./src/main/win32/SDL_win32_main.c:217)
#6 005BF6E4 WinMain(hInst=0x400000, hPrev=0x0, szCmdLine=0x251efc "-u -d \"C:\\workspaceCpp\\ManaWorld\\data\"", sw=10) (./src/main/win32/SDL_win32_main.c:353)
#7 005BEF48 main() (??:??)

I already checked the forum and couldn’t find anything like this error, and as this is my first time compiling mana world I have no idea what I should look for in order to fix this (and I’ve been doing this since last night =p). So any help will be very welcome =], thanks =]
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by Jaxad0127 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:36 am

Try using the latest nightly release instead of the last stable release.
Image
leofilipe
Peon
Peon
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by leofilipe » Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:29 am

jaxad0127 wrote:Try using the latest nightly release instead of the last stable release.
Just did it, same result, the frame of the window appears, and then it shuts down before draw or show anything inside it.

The debug message changed slightly, now it doesn’t show “Error while reading shared library symbols:” just the segmentation fault. By the track of the segmentation it seems to be something related to video configuration. Should it be some video file configuration that it’s not finding?

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
In Slider::init () ()
Continuing...
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
In Slider::init () ()
Continuing...
Program exited with code 030000000005.
Debugger finished with status 0

#0 00000000 0x005218b9 in Slider::init() (??:??)
#1 00000000 0x00521dc3 in Slider::Slider() (??:??)
#2 00000000 0x004c46f5 in Setup_Video::Setup_Video() (??:??)
#3 00000000 0x004a5b09 in Setup::Setup() (??:??)
#4 00000000 0x00546bc0 in SDL_main() (??:??)
#5 005BF4DB console_main(argc=4, argv=0x23fd50) (./src/main/win32/SDL_win32_main.c:217)
#6 005BF6E4 WinMain(hInst=0x400000, hPrev=0x0, szCmdLine=0x251efc "-u -d \"C:\\workspaceCpp\\ManaWorld\\data\"", sw=10) (./src/main/win32/SDL_win32_main.c:353)
#7 00000000 0x005bef48 in main() (??:??)


I just remembered that before I was even able to compile it, it was accusing that it could not find the file “tmw.res” I checked and it was a resolution file, but I couldn’t find it anywhere on the project folder. Could it be it?

Still needing help =]
User avatar
Freeyorp101
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:17 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by Freeyorp101 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:20 am

Which directory are you running the client from? Can it find the client data?

(If that isn't the problem, are you able to compile it with debugging symbols?)



---Freeyorp
(09:58:17) < tux9th> Freeyorp: your sig on the forums is kind of outdated
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 2526
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:11 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by ElvenProgrammer » Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:03 am

leofilipe wrote:it was accusing that it could not find the file “tmw.res” I checked and it was a resolution file, but I couldn’t find it anywhere on the project folder. Could it be it?

Still needing help =]
That should only be needed for the executable icon
leofilipe
Peon
Peon
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by leofilipe » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:28 pm

Freeyorp101 wrote:Which directory are you running the client from? Can it find the client data?
---Freeyorp
Yes, it can find the data. Before it could, I was having troubles when it tried to load fonts or mouse cursors, but not anymore.
Freeyorp101 wrote:(If that isn't the problem, are you able to compile it with debugging symbols?)
---Freeyorp
I have no idea how to do that =p, I’ve been checking the compiler looking for it but couldn't find it, can anyone please tell me how to do it?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Internet

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by Jaxad0127 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:46 pm

It can't find the (new) client data. Make sure you run it from where you cloned/extracted the client.
Image
leofilipe
Peon
Peon
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:03 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Can’t run client after built.

Post by leofilipe » Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:18 pm

jaxad0127 wrote:It can't find the (new) client data. Make sure you run it from where you cloned/extracted the client.
Ok it works now. The problem wasn’t exactly this but was kind of. What happened was that several of the files in data folder where corrupted. I didn’t check it earlier because I downloaded it from the git repository with cygwin several times the last couple days (home, work, etc.) so its kind weird that it got corrupted every time oO. Anyway, I just downloaded it again with msysgit, checked the images in data folder and they were all fine. Compiled the project and it worked!! =]

Anyway, I blame it on cygwin for download the files corrupted every time I did it the last days ¬¬ and myself for haven’t checked it earlier.

Thanks for the help guys =]
Post Reply