BMP's

Content and general development discussion, including maps, quests, and server code from the development team.
Post Reply
User avatar
Genis
Peon
Peon
Posts: 82
Joined: 29 Apr 2004, 20:43
Contact:

BMP's

Post by Genis » 05 Jul 2004, 00:53

I think we should use PNG or a more compressed fileformat. Because our sprites and stf our making our source on CVS quite large, almost a meg a picture, and I dont think this is neccessary.

Anyone else agree?
Sorry...I only speak English
User avatar
Sull
Novice
Novice
Posts: 163
Joined: 26 Apr 2004, 17:56
Location: Quebec,Montreal

.

Post by Sull » 05 Jul 2004, 03:34

im ok with you genis,but allegro dont support PNG natively not like other engine *ehm* SDL *ehm*

but there an addon
http://tjaden.strangesoft.net/loadpng/
that can load and save PNG
but they have as dependencie zlib and libpng that can be a prob

maybe lets elven get the choice
User avatar
ElvenProgrammer
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 2526
Joined: 13 Apr 2004, 20:11
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by ElvenProgrammer » 05 Jul 2004, 09:06

Yeah as Sull already said Allegro supports only BMP, PCX and another format I can't remeber now but surely its uncompressed. :cry:
And I must agree also with SUll about using other libraries (think at MASkinG), they only give a lot of problems... :(
Btw I've a solution: we can use Allegro's datafiles! You never heard of it? So what are you waiting then, go and read the docs! In ease it's a sort of a file, also compressed, in which you can store every format supported by Allegro: wavs, fonts, midis, bmps and so on. It also can be used with a little mod to store custom files format (This will be useful for example to store maps -> 4MB each) :D
User avatar
Sull
Novice
Novice
Posts: 163
Joined: 26 Apr 2004, 17:56
Location: Quebec,Montreal

.

Post by Sull » 05 Jul 2004, 18:04

awesome =)
User avatar
Genis
Peon
Peon
Posts: 82
Joined: 29 Apr 2004, 20:43
Contact:

Post by Genis » 05 Jul 2004, 19:10

sounds good!
*begins reading*
Sorry...I only speak English
User avatar
Genis
Peon
Peon
Posts: 82
Joined: 29 Apr 2004, 20:43
Contact:

Post by Genis » 30 Jul 2004, 17:18

well i set up the source to read from the datafiles.( A while ago) however, all of the graphics are still also uncompressed on the CVS server. I can see maybe having all the uncompressed graphics on an ftp or some other server but not the source CVS server. They are just taking up space and making it take longer to download the source. I personally think they should be taken off, but I dont know how to do this. Sull, Elven do you guys agree? and could one of you maybe do it?
Sorry...I only speak English
User avatar
Sull
Novice
Novice
Posts: 163
Joined: 26 Apr 2004, 17:56
Location: Quebec,Montreal

.

Post by Sull » 30 Jul 2004, 19:07

yea sure no problem im working on it
Post Reply