making "GM" in a name impossible

Got something on your mind about the project? This is the correct place for that.
Forum rules
This forum is for feature requests, content changes additions, anything not a Bug in the software.
Please report all bugs on the Support Forums
Post Reply
User avatar
meway
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1736
Joined: 04 Jan 2009, 06:02
Location: Detroit MI
Contact:

making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by meway » 03 Nov 2009, 20:56

sorry to be off topic but for the devs is it possible to block G and M from being next to each-other at login? Also I want to make my client capitalize the user names. there is a bug if i log in with meway with the m lowercase <-- acts like its a blank account. and Meway acts like its my account.
Turmfalke
Novice
Novice
Posts: 350
Joined: 10 Aug 2008, 19:28
Location: Maligree's Wonderful Garden

Re: making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by Turmfalke » 03 Nov 2009, 22:43

login data is case sensetive once there is a account with a different capitalization and blocking everything containing a gm is a very bad idea since many perfectly fine names might include a gm.
I stand beside the holy man
The monarchs fear my wrath
None may move the way I can
Ever the crooked path
a knight
User avatar
meway
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1736
Joined: 04 Jan 2009, 06:02
Location: Detroit MI
Contact:

Re: making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by meway » 04 Nov 2009, 01:07

you did'nt name any :roll:

sorry for the sarcasm on a second note can you help me make my own client auto capitalize.

oh and thx for making an appropriate topic for this lol.
Turmfalke
Novice
Novice
Posts: 350
Joined: 10 Aug 2008, 19:28
Location: Maligree's Wonderful Garden

Re: making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by Turmfalke » 04 Nov 2009, 07:12

for example names like "flagman" "enigma" etc..
I stand beside the holy man
The monarchs fear my wrath
None may move the way I can
Ever the crooked path
a knight
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by Crush » 04 Nov 2009, 07:52

meway wrote:you did'nt name any :roll:

sorry for the sarcasm on a second note can you help me make my own client auto capitalize.

oh and thx for making an appropriate topic for this lol.
You could edit the Being:setName method and make the first character uppercase.

http://www.cppreference.com/wiki/c/string/toupper
http://www.cppreference.com/wiki/string/at
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
Brice de Nice

Re: making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by Brice de Nice » 04 Nov 2009, 14:55

[EDIT]
Last edited by Brice de Nice on 23 Nov 2009, 10:27, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
meway
Knight
Knight
Posts: 1736
Joined: 04 Jan 2009, 06:02
Location: Detroit MI
Contact:

Re: making "GM" in a name impossible

Post by meway » 04 Nov 2009, 16:55

wow thanks for the annoying big yellow letters
and vink_gm <--- well the case here would be having it possible for gm's to have it but im don't with this topic lol my questions have been answered thx everyone :twisted:
Post Reply