No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Ask for help regarding any technical issue or report any bug or OS independent issues.
Post Reply
aethynyc
Peon
Peon
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2009, 11:45

No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by aethynyc » 09 Nov 2009, 11:54

I followed this linux setup guide exactly on the wiki and successfully got an eathena tmw server up and running.

http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/ ... a_on_Linux

However, when I went in the game I noticed there were many errors such as:

-No skills showed up
-I couldn't warp to other maps
-Couldn't job change
-Many gm commands didn't work

Then I came across these guides:

http://forums.themanaworld.org/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=6401
http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/ ... stallation
http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/ ... mwserv.xml

which explains how to make a database and an xml file, but the wiki didn't mention anything about a database or xml file.

So what is my problem? I am familiar with Eathena as it has two modes that it can run on txt files vs database. Do I need to install a database?
Last edited by aethynyc on 09 Nov 2009, 12:36, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Crush
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 8046
Joined: 25 Aug 2005, 17:08
Location: Germany

Re: No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by Crush » 09 Nov 2009, 12:11

The last three links you posted are specific to TMWServ (now renamed ManaServ) and are irrelevant for eAthena servers.

Our eAthena runs in flatfile mode, so you don't need a database to clone our setup.

Your problem has to be somewhere else. Unfortunately I can't help you any better because I lost track of the latest eA changes in the last months.
  • former Manasource Programmer
  • former TMW Pixel artist
  • NOT a game master

Please do not send me any inquiries regarding player accounts on TMW.


You might have heard a certain rumor about me. This rumor is completely false. You might also have heard the other rumor about me. This rumor is 100% accurate.
aethynyc
Peon
Peon
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2009, 11:45

Re: No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by aethynyc » 09 Nov 2009, 12:25

Oh so those are for Manaserv, is ManaServ the real server that will replace eathena? Or am I missing something here?

Do you have any suggestions on what I could do to solve my problems? (Compiled wrong? Missing scripts? Bad setup? Wrong configs?) Did I miss a step while setting up the Eathean tmw version?

Should I use ManaServ instead?
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 09 Nov 2009, 14:30

aethynyc wrote:-No skills showed up
None will. No skills currently implemented can be leveled from the gui.
aethynyc wrote:-I couldn't warp to other maps
No warps are working? Remember, not all building have interiors yet.
aethynyc wrote:-Couldn't job change
We don't use the class system.
aethynyc wrote:-Many gm commands didn't work
Did you give yourself that power when setting up?
aethynyc wrote:Should I use ManaServ instead?
Depends on what you're doing.
Image
aethynyc
Peon
Peon
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2009, 11:45

Re: No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by aethynyc » 09 Nov 2009, 19:49

Well for the warping I tried @warp 1 or the town name (which is still labeled as the ro towns in the eathena ver) and it didn't work. I was trying to get to some of the maps like the snow one I saw in the wiki.

If i recall on the real mana world server there were some basic skills on the menu?

It seems I am missing information on what exactly can and cannot be done. Is there a guide or wiki page that has more detail about this?

aethynyc wrote:Should I use ManaServ instead?
jaxad0127 wrote:Depends on what you're doing.
#1 I want to create a private server to test it out (see how everything is, get familiar with the maps, systems, etc)
#2 If good, to ultimately customize tmw and create a playable server.
User avatar
Jaxad0127
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 4209
Joined: 01 Nov 2007, 18:35
Location: Internet

Re: No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by Jaxad0127 » 09 Nov 2009, 22:00

aethynyc wrote:Well for the warping I tried @warp 1 or the town name (which is still labeled as the ro towns in the eathena ver) and it didn't work. I was trying to get to some of the maps like the snow one I saw in the wiki.
Try map names like 001-1, 011-5, etc. Full list here: http://wiki.themanaworld.org/index.php/Map_development.
aethynyc wrote:If i recall on the real mana world server there were some basic skills on the menu?
The basic skill was removed. The reason for it is described in our client news and the news forum.
Image
User avatar
Rotonen
TMW Adviser
TMW Adviser
Posts: 3154
Joined: 08 Sep 2004, 20:48
Location: Espoo, Finland

Re: No skills showing up + cant class change (Need DB)?

Post by Rotonen » 10 Nov 2009, 07:48

aethynyc wrote:customize tmw and create a playable server
2 sensible ways to go here:

1) Fix the eA client to work with the latest eA (ours is from 2004, badly broken, no working database support and tweaked a lot).
2) Help develop ManaServ to a point where this is possible.
This message used to be meaningful.
Post Reply